TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,249 Reviews & Articles | 40,766 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Rockstar rumored to announce Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas 2 soon

InWin D-Frame Limited Edition Open-Air Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

InWin D-Frame Limited Edition Open-Air Chassis Review
First there was the X-Frame, then came the H-Frame - if those didn't do it for you, maybe the new D-Frame case is the design you've been waiting for.
| Open Air Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Apr 1, 2013 10:50 pm
TweakTown Rating: 96%Manufacturer: InWin

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5308_32_inwin_d_frame_limited_edition_open_air_chassis_review.jpg

 

So after building the D-Frame and being happy with the results and the fact that the glass fit, it was time to load it full of components. From the front you can see that fan bracket is very open to take full effect of a fan. You can also see off to the right that the front I/O panel and the fan controller are easy to get at with the gap in the frame there.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5308_33_inwin_d_frame_limited_edition_open_air_chassis_review.jpg

 

Looking into the left side of the D-Frame, you can see there was plenty of room for the ATX motherboard, and the hard drive rack is spaced well enough not to cause any issues. I also like the SSD installation location, and I am a fan of the 90 degree rotation of the motherboard.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5308_34_inwin_d_frame_limited_edition_open_air_chassis_review.jpg

 

In the back most of what you see is the power supply of choice. While in the manual it does show you sandwiching a PSU into the brackets, the issue was with my PSU is that the modular clips were covered by the bracket, so raising it just a touch makes it all work out.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5308_35_inwin_d_frame_limited_edition_open_air_chassis_review.jpg

 

With the large plastic rings for the wiring that InWin sent along for this side of the chassis, there is little effort needed for a clean look. I just wired things up with only one thing in mind, not covering the D-Frame milled into this side. There are plenty of locations to bundle the wires and screw in a clip, and is why I say this takes such little effort.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5308_36_inwin_d_frame_limited_edition_open_air_chassis_review.jpg

 

In the top of the chassis you may think things would be tough to get to. In fact, there is a two inch gap from the frame to the rear of the motherboard. So while it may seem the audio is blocked, there is plenty of room for the connections to be made without contorting things.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5308_37_inwin_d_frame_limited_edition_open_air_chassis_review.jpg

 

When you are all done with the build it is time to add the glass again. Things aren't even close to touching the glass back here either, as the glass sits almost an inch off the frame, and everything attached to the chassis stay well short of the chassis height here.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5308_38_inwin_d_frame_limited_edition_open_air_chassis_review.jpg

 

Now we get back to the money shot. Here we have the completed build with the tinted glass panel back on. You can easily see anything you want to inside the D-Frame, and here is where you can really appreciate the cable management offered.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases