TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,157 Reviews & Articles | 39,563 News Posts

InWin D-Frame Limited Edition Open-Air Chassis Review - Assembly of the InWin D-Frame

InWin D-Frame Limited Edition Open-Air Chassis Review
First there was the X-Frame, then came the H-Frame - if those didn't do it for you, maybe the new D-Frame case is the design you've been waiting for.
| Open Air Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Apr 1, 2013 10:50 pm
TweakTown Rating: 96%Manufacturer: InWin

Assembly of the InWin D-Frame

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5308_12_inwin_d_frame_limited_edition_open_air_chassis_review.jpg

 

Following the instruction in two page steps at the moment, so far I was shown to put rubber spacers on the 12mm thick motherboard tray, and then gently place the four parts of the outer shell in line for the next bit of hardware to lock these all into place.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5308_13_inwin_d_frame_limited_edition_open_air_chassis_review.jpg

 

Along with a pair of center hold spacers, one in each side, you have to thread the rod through the rubber spacer in the middle, then into the opposite sides spacer. Once that is all good to go, you can then slide the metal spacer into this end to lock the threaded rod into the chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5308_15_inwin_d_frame_limited_edition_open_air_chassis_review.jpg

 

Once you have that step completed on all four corners, it is time to grab the nuts and the wrenches. Because the rod will spin, you get two wrenches to install these axel-like bars. With a wrench on either side, just tighten things until they are snug - if you tighten things too tight, you may chip the paint.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5308_16_inwin_d_frame_limited_edition_open_air_chassis_review.jpg

 

Stepping back, you can see I have all four of the rods in with all the spacers, and now have them tightened so we can continue on with the building of the D-Frame.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5308_17_inwin_d_frame_limited_edition_open_air_chassis_review.jpg

 

Then it tells you to grab the adjustable PSU plate that will allow for up to 220mm long power supplies, and with the use of large thumbscrews, you can snug it anywhere in the oblong holes in the frame for now.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5308_18_inwin_d_frame_limited_edition_open_air_chassis_review.jpg

 

The next step to the D-Frame is to grab a pair of hex head screws and with that long screwdriver, go ahead and install the expansion card support to the motherboard tray. A way to be sure you are in the right area is if there are the grooves cut for the tabs on the expansion cards right next to where you are installing this.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5308_19_inwin_d_frame_limited_edition_open_air_chassis_review.jpg

 

At the same time, since I had that screwdriver in hand, I added in the four fan brackets along with the three bay 3.5" drive rack. The rack uses large head screws on the sides that will drop into the grooves. With the latch on the left side, you can slide the lock bar closed to hold drives in that cage.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases