TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,012 Reviews & Articles | 38,778 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Windows 9 logo teased, with Microsoft's next OS 'coming soon'

NZXT Kraken X60 280mm AIO CPU Cooler Review - Installation and Finished Product

NZXT Kraken X60 280mm AIO CPU Cooler Review
It's an AIO, has LED lighting, software control, and a 280mm radiator... that's right. The Kraken X60 is here for testing.
| CPU Liquid Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Apr 8, 2013 6:01 am
TweakTown Rating: 99%Manufacturer: NZXT

Installation and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5300_26_nzxt_kraken_x60_280mm_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

To get the X60 mounted I went ahead and grabbed the Intel back plate. While these are a composite material that likely won't short out, there are two foam pads that you must apply it the one side to help protect solder points on the motherboard.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5300_27_nzxt_kraken_x60_280mm_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Then you have to flip over the back plate, and in each of the four corners, you need to slide in the metal inserts. You align them with the flat spots, so that they don't twist when used, but make sure you have it in the correct hole, like how I set it in the 1156 holes for my system.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5300_28_nzxt_kraken_x60_280mm_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

I find it is a bit easier to take the top plate, apply the hardware to each of the holes, and pass the screws through prior to putting it on the head unit. It is just easier to access and flip around without the weight of the head unit and the tubes getting in your way.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5300_29_nzxt_kraken_x60_280mm_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

After looking at the top of the head unit to align the legs so the logo is going the way you want it to, set the tabs from the ring into the notches all around the head unit. Once that is done, click in the lock ring from the bottom to keep the hardware in place as you attempt to screw this to the motherboard.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5300_30_nzxt_kraken_x60_280mm_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

At this point you should peel the other side of the foam tape that you applied to the back plate, and stick it to the motherboard with the metal inserts lined up with the holes around the socket.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5300_31_nzxt_kraken_x60_280mm_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Then all you have to do is align the hardware on the head unit, and then screw the four screws in with an X pattern of maybe three to five turns on each screw, then move to the next one in the pattern. You know you are done when the threads bottom out.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5300_32_nzxt_kraken_x60_280mm_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Since with an AIO there aren't any clearance issues, I moved right to the wiring. You can tie up the 3-pin for the pump and tuck it away, and the USB cable will wrap right behind the board. The fan cable I tied to one of the hose, just to keep it in place since I test open air and am not so worried about cable management.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5300_33_nzxt_kraken_x60_280mm_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

With the cable going over the top of the motherboard, and here now at the bottom, I had to tie up quite a bit of the cable to look clean here. In a chassis, there will be plenty to use the management holes provided and still easily make this connection.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5300_34_nzxt_kraken_x60_280mm_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

I just wanted to step back and take a minute to absorb the Kraken X60 and its size. I know my wiring to the radiator is a bit unsightly, but in a chassis there is plenty of length to make all the fan connection, and the 6" drop of the SATA power connector makes it easier and closer to the PSU.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5300_35_nzxt_kraken_x60_280mm_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

When you gain control of the X60 via the software you can change the default white I have shown here. If you don't like white, that is fine too, as the software gives you the full RGB scale to tune in any specific color you want.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases