TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,934 Reviews & Articles | 38,226 News Posts

NZXT Kraken X60 280mm AIO CPU Cooler Review - NZXT Kraken X60 Continued

NZXT Kraken X60 280mm AIO CPU Cooler Review

It's an AIO, has LED lighting, software control, and a 280mm radiator... that's right. The Kraken X60 is here for testing.

| CPU Liquid Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Apr 8, 2013 6:01 am
TweakTown Rating: 99%      Manufacturer: NZXT

NZXT Kraken X60 Continued

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5300_14_nzxt_kraken_x60_280mm_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

I did notice the box says that there is 16" of tubing, but on both the X40 and the X60, I measured 15" in total. The four port pan lead is about 10" long, and the SATA lead is on another 6" of cable. The 3-pin fan connection is 7" long, and the USB cable reaches near 22" in length.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5300_15_nzxt_kraken_x60_280mm_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The barbs on the radiator are aluminium, and the 1/4" ID tubing is pressed over them. To keep the tubing from backing off, plastic rings are pressed over the tubing to keep it locked to the barbs.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5300_16_nzxt_kraken_x60_280mm_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Checking a random section near the middle of the radiator, you can count for yourself, but let me save you the trouble. There are 24 Fins per Inch (FPI) between the micro-tubes that the coolant transfers the heat from.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5300_17_nzxt_kraken_x60_280mm_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

You are now looking at 280mm of width and 140mm of heat in this radiator. While I noticed that Corsair went with a 20mm spread in the middle, NZXT used 15mm spacing between the pairs of middle screws.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5300_18_nzxt_kraken_x60_280mm_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

You can see the fans are a little closer together than on the H110 as well. These fans do cover quite a bit of the surface area, and with them being as powerful as what I saw with the X40, I can only image they will do just fine here, too.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5300_19_nzxt_kraken_x60_280mm_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

This image was taken for two reasons. One is that there is a sticker with the name of the cooler, the serial number, and the power requirements. I also wanted to show the radiator in its 27mm profile, but keep in mind there are offsets, so the radiator is much thinner where the fins are.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5300_20_nzxt_kraken_x60_280mm_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The 140mm fans are ever so slightly larger than the width of the radiator. So if you do plan to use a push/pull setup, you still need to consider for 140mm not the 138.5 specified. With a single set of fans the size will almost double, and with four fans on this radiator, we are looking at 77mm in total thickness.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases