TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,139 Reviews & Articles | 39,455 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

NZXT Kraken X60 280mm AIO CPU Cooler Review - NZXT Kraken X60 Continued

NZXT Kraken X60 280mm AIO CPU Cooler Review
It's an AIO, has LED lighting, software control, and a 280mm radiator... that's right. The Kraken X60 is here for testing.
| CPU Liquid Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Apr 8, 2013 6:01 am
TweakTown Rating: 99%Manufacturer: NZXT

NZXT Kraken X60 Continued

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5300_14_nzxt_kraken_x60_280mm_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

I did notice the box says that there is 16" of tubing, but on both the X40 and the X60, I measured 15" in total. The four port pan lead is about 10" long, and the SATA lead is on another 6" of cable. The 3-pin fan connection is 7" long, and the USB cable reaches near 22" in length.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5300_15_nzxt_kraken_x60_280mm_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The barbs on the radiator are aluminium, and the 1/4" ID tubing is pressed over them. To keep the tubing from backing off, plastic rings are pressed over the tubing to keep it locked to the barbs.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5300_16_nzxt_kraken_x60_280mm_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Checking a random section near the middle of the radiator, you can count for yourself, but let me save you the trouble. There are 24 Fins per Inch (FPI) between the micro-tubes that the coolant transfers the heat from.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5300_17_nzxt_kraken_x60_280mm_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

You are now looking at 280mm of width and 140mm of heat in this radiator. While I noticed that Corsair went with a 20mm spread in the middle, NZXT used 15mm spacing between the pairs of middle screws.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5300_18_nzxt_kraken_x60_280mm_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

You can see the fans are a little closer together than on the H110 as well. These fans do cover quite a bit of the surface area, and with them being as powerful as what I saw with the X40, I can only image they will do just fine here, too.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5300_19_nzxt_kraken_x60_280mm_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

This image was taken for two reasons. One is that there is a sticker with the name of the cooler, the serial number, and the power requirements. I also wanted to show the radiator in its 27mm profile, but keep in mind there are offsets, so the radiator is much thinner where the fins are.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5300_20_nzxt_kraken_x60_280mm_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The 140mm fans are ever so slightly larger than the width of the radiator. So if you do plan to use a push/pull setup, you still need to consider for 140mm not the 138.5 specified. With a single set of fans the size will almost double, and with four fans on this radiator, we are looking at 77mm in total thickness.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases