TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,668 Reviews & Articles | 36,034 News Posts

NZXT Kraken X40 140mm AIO CPU Cooler Review - Installation and Finished Product

NZXT Kraken X40 140mm AIO CPU Cooler Review

NZXT finally delivers its 140mm AIOs to our lab for testing. It's time now to check out the Kraken X40.

| CPU Liquid Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Apr 4, 2013 3:18 pm
TweakTown Rating: 98%      Manufacturer: NZXT

Installation and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5298_27_nzxt_kraken_x40_140mm_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

If you are using AMD, there is only one hole in that back plate to install the metal threads into. With the Intel kit, look closely, as it does say which hole is for what socket, and for our testing, I set them in the 1155/1156 holes.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5298_28_nzxt_kraken_x40_140mm_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

After that I flipped over the plate and installed the foam isolation pads. While the back plate is plastic and likely won't short anything, there are a few solder points that these do buffer against on my board, and every little bit of protection helps.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5298_29_nzxt_kraken_x40_140mm_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

On the head unit, once you have the top ring in place and set the tabs into all the notches around it, you then have to clip in the lock ring to keep this hardware secure and in place for the rest of the installation. I would like to note that this ring seems a bit larger than normal and was a real pain to get it locked in.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5298_30_nzxt_kraken_x40_140mm_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

In each of the four holes in the metal top ring, you need to install the top plastic clip into the lower section, and again they are marked. Here I have the 1155/1156 marking facing out so that it fits my board. Once those are clipped in, you just push the screw through them and you are ready to go.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5298_31_nzxt_kraken_x40_140mm_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Since the holes for the 1155 mounting are offset, it does leave the back plate on an angle in respect to the motherboard, but it matters little to its ability to work or add the correct pressure around the socket.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5298_32_nzxt_kraken_x40_140mm_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Than all you have to do is flip the board over, and attach the head unit via the four screws. Don't worry about the pressure here, just screw these in until the threads stop, and let the engineering of the X40 work for you.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5298_33_nzxt_kraken_x40_140mm_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Stepping back a bit, you can see there is plenty of tubing to allow this radiator to make it to the back of any chassis with 140mm fan support, and easily reaches the top. With this much tubing, you can actually reach the bottom in some mid-tower cases, and it makes optical bay installation mods much easier.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5298_34_nzxt_kraken_x40_140mm_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Once powered on, you can have control of the LED lighting system. While the X40 does offer 16.8 million color choices with the RGB scale, I simply chose one to highlight the feature as I cannot take images of every color combination.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below