TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,911 Reviews & Articles | 38,071 News Posts

NZXT Kraken X40 140mm AIO CPU Cooler Review - NZXT Kraken X40 AIO CPU Cooler

NZXT Kraken X40 140mm AIO CPU Cooler Review

NZXT finally delivers its 140mm AIOs to our lab for testing. It's time now to check out the Kraken X40.

| CPU Liquid Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Apr 4, 2013 3:18 pm
TweakTown Rating: 98%      Manufacturer: NZXT

NZXT Kraken X40 AIO CPU Cooler

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5298_07_nzxt_kraken_x40_140mm_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The round head unit is a dead giveaway of this being an Asetek kit, but unlike most, this head unit from NZXT will illuminate. Both the ring and the NZXT name are fully RGB programmable via the software to match any system, or denote the coolant temperature with a scale from green to red.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5298_08_nzxt_kraken_x40_140mm_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The black rubber hoses use a sleeve to keep them attached to the plastic swivel fittings of the head unit. You can also see that right next to the tubing are three braided leads coming out of the head unit.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5298_09_nzxt_kraken_x40_140mm_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

These leads are to power the head unit with the 3-pin fan connector at the bottom, the USB plug is to allow software to talk to the X40, and the top lead ends with a pair of 4-pin can connections to keep the wiring at the radiator clean, and enables the software to set the fans speeds.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5298_10_nzxt_kraken_x40_140mm_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

For transportation and sanitary reasons, the head unit is shipped with a clear plastic cover. This will keep anything off the copper surface, and it will help keep dirt out of the thermal paste.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5298_11_nzxt_kraken_x40_140mm_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Speaking of the thermal paste, it is pre-applied in a large circle in the middle. This will cover an entire IHS, but since I test all coolers with the same TIM, this textured application needs to be removed.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5298_12_nzxt_kraken_x40_140mm_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

With the paste out of the way you can definitely see the circular milling marks left behind on the copper plate. There was no dirt in the TIM, and the surface of this base is in really good shape for testing.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5298_13_nzxt_kraken_x40_140mm_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

I have been mentioning that these new bases are pretty convex, so I grabbed a razor to show you. As you can see the base is very high in the middle, but with the pressure of the hardware kit, it does help this round shape conform to the flatter IHS you are putting it on.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases