TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,053 Reviews & Articles | 38,938 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win a Biostar J1800NH2 Motherboard (Global Entry!)
TRENDING NOW: DisplayPort 1.3 announced, supports 5K, as well as 4K at 120Hz

Logitech G710+ Mechanical Gaming Keyboard Review - The G710+ Continued

Logitech G710+ Mechanical Gaming Keyboard Review
We finally got the G710+ into our labs. It's time to see what kind of magic Logitech and MX Cherry Brown switches can make.
| Keyboards in Peripherals | Posted: Apr 1, 2013 3:01 pm
TweakTown Rating: 96%Manufacturer: Logitech

The G710+ Continued

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5282_15_logitech_g710_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Off to the right you have 30 more keys that make up the command section as well as the number pad. Also just like the W, A, S and D keys, the arrow keys are also shipped with grey key caps on them.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5282_16_logitech_g710_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

I removed a bunch of key caps to see what is going on under them. I found that the bulk of the keys are utilizing the quiet, but tactile Cherry MX Brown switches. Under the M1 key though, as well as all of the thin keys like it, there are rubber membrane switches used.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5282_17_logitech_g710_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

I did the same thing on the other end of the board and removed a few keys again. As was the situation on the other end, most keys are the brown switches, but the thin multimedia keys are rubber dome switches.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5282_18_logitech_g710_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Looking at where the rubber coated, two meter cable comes from the keyboard, I found that the G710+ has an extra USB 2.0 port there too for a mouse or a headset.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5282_19_logitech_g710_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

With the G710+ flipped over, you can see it is supported on four rubber feet to keep it from moving around on the desk top. If you look closely near the center of the board, you can see there is a wire management trail offered as well to tidy up whatever you plug into the extra port in the back.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5282_20_logitech_g710_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

In the back, just inside of the rubber feet, there are plastic flip out supports that allows the board to offer a more ergonomic stance on the desktop.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5282_21_logitech_g710_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Flipping the feet out I noticed that you lose the rubber pad, and all that is left to keep the keyboard in place now is the edges of the plastic feet. As for the height difference, when these are out like this you get three eighths of an inch height increase to the back of the keyboard.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5282_22_logitech_g710_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

The rubberized, two meter cable also carries bits of the orange seen on the keyboard. The large section of orange plastic on the left is where the cables separate, and as they terminate in the USB 2.0 plugs at the right, these ends are also orange so they are easy to find on the rear I/O panel.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases