TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,913 Reviews & Articles | 38,091 News Posts

ASRock Fatal1ty X79 Champion (Intel X79) Motherboard Review - ASRock Fatal1ty X79 Champion Motherboard

ASRock Fatal1ty X79 Champion (Intel X79) Motherboard Review

It's been a while since we've seen a Fatal1ty based motherboard. Today we check out the featured packed X79 Champion from ASRock.

| Socket LGA 2011 in Motherboards | Posted: Mar 25, 2013 3:25 pm
TweakTown Rating: 94%      Manufacturer: ASRock

ASRock Fatal1ty X79 Champion Motherboard

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5279_11_asrock_fatal1ty_x79_champion_intel_x79_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Moving away from the bundle and getting into the board we get a good general idea of what's going on here with the overall layout. Let's move in a bit closer, though, and check out everything in some more detail.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5279_12_asrock_fatal1ty_x79_champion_intel_x79_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Looking at the expansion slot side of things you can see we've got two PCIe x1 slots and five PCIe x16 slots that offer support for both 4-way SLI and 4-way CrossFireX. Of course depending on what and how many slots you use depends on the speed they ran. The setups are PCIE1/PCIE5: x16/16 mode, PCIE1/PCIE3/PCIE5: x16/8/8 mode, PCIE1/PCIE4/PCIE7: x16/8/8 mode and PCIE1/PCIE3/PCIE5/PCIE7: x16/8/8/8 mode.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5279_13_asrock_fatal1ty_x79_champion_intel_x79_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Moving across the bottom of the board you can see we've got two USB 2.0 headers, COM, SPIDF, 1394 Firewire and the standard front panel header. We've also got two fan headers, power and reset buttons and a Molex connector providing extra power in the event you're going for power hungry video card setups.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5279_14_asrock_fatal1ty_x79_champion_intel_x79_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Turning the corner you can see the LED debug reader at the bottom along with a total of 10 SATA ports. The top four black ports are SATA II and run off the Intel Z77 chipset. The two red ports closest to the black are SATA III running of the same chip. The other four ports which are labeled as M0 - M4 are also SATA III, but run off the Marvel SE9230 controller.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5279_15_asrock_fatal1ty_x79_champion_intel_x79_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Working our way up towards the top of the board you can see the main 24-pin ATX power connector. To the left of that we've got two USB 3.0 headers while to the right we have the V-Check points. This will more likely be a feature you don't really use as it tends to be reserved for the most extreme overclockers.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5279_16_asrock_fatal1ty_x79_champion_intel_x79_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5279_17_asrock_fatal1ty_x79_champion_intel_x79_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Moving around to the CPU area you can see the main 8-pin CPU power connector tucked away behind the heatsink, while moving back gives us a look at the heatsink area on a whole, which looks great. You can also see eight DIMM slots which offer us support for up to 64GB of DDR3 RAM ranging from 1066MHz DDR to 2500+MHz DDR via overclocking.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5279_18_asrock_fatal1ty_x79_champion_intel_x79_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Looking above you can see we've got a PS/2 port along with two USB 2.0 ports. Next to that we've got a clear CMOS button. There's a total of eight USB 3.0 ports, two eSATA ports, two Gigabit networking ports running off the Broadcom BCM57781 controller, single 1394 Firewire port along with five auxiliary ports and an optical one running off the Creative Sound Core3D processor.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases