TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,677 Reviews & Articles | 36,080 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

ASUS P8Z77-V Pro/Thunderbolt (Intel Z77) Motherboard Review - BIOS

ASUS P8Z77-V Pro/Thunderbolt (Intel Z77) Motherboard Review

It's been a while since we've seen an ASUS board, but today we're checking out the P8Z77-V Pro/Thunderbolt.

| Socket LGA 1155 in Motherboards | Posted: Mar 23, 2013 1:30 am
TweakTown Rating: 96%      Manufacturer: ASUS

BIOS

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5260_16_asus_p8z77_v_pro_thunderbolt_intel_z77_motherboard_review.png

 

Getting into the BIOS for the first time you're greeted with "EZ Mode". You can't do too much here and the chances are if you're in the BIOS you'll probably want to jump into the advanced section. This can be done by going to the top right corner of the screen or hitting F7.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5260_17_asus_p8z77_v_pro_thunderbolt_intel_z77_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5260_18_asus_p8z77_v_pro_thunderbolt_intel_z77_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5260_19_asus_p8z77_v_pro_thunderbolt_intel_z77_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5260_20_asus_p8z77_v_pro_thunderbolt_intel_z77_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5260_21_asus_p8z77_v_pro_thunderbolt_intel_z77_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5260_22_asus_p8z77_v_pro_thunderbolt_intel_z77_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5260_23_asus_p8z77_v_pro_thunderbolt_intel_z77_motherboard_review.png

 

Once in the advanced area of the BIOS it's all familiar territory. If you're going to be overclocking, you'll head straight over to the Ai Tweaker section of the BIOS. Here we've got all the normal BCLK and multiplier options along with a strong lineup of voltage options all in one place, which is great. What we really love, though, is that when you're adjusting the voltages we go through a number of color stages showing us what's safe and what isn't.

 

You start with white or black depending on if the number is highlighted or not. You then move into yellow, followed by purple before we finally hit red. Of course depending on the kind of cooling you have will depend on what you can go to. You can with confidence, though, feel pretty confortable setting the voltages in the yellow area or early purple if you're on stronger cooling.

 

Moving throughout the rest of the BIOS you've got all the normal options with the last screen offering the ability to flash to the latest BIOS and save O.C. Profiles. It's been ages since we've looked at an ASUS BIOS and we're again reminded why it's one of our favorites to use.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below