TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,144 Reviews & Articles | 39,498 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Nanoxia Deep Silence 2 Mid-Tower Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

Nanoxia Deep Silence 2 Mid-Tower Chassis Review
It has been a while since we have looked at Nanoxia products, but they are back now with the Deep Silence 2 chassis.
| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Mar 17, 2013 7:43 am
TweakTown Rating: 94%Manufacturer: Nanoxia

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5249_32_nanoxia_deep_silence_2_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

I sort of screwed up by managing the wires before this image, but it works out to show you a great point. Since most users will do a bit of management anyways, you need to keep in mind that to gain access to the dust filter covering these fans, you need to leave a bunch of slack in the wiring to allow the bezel to be removed.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5249_33_nanoxia_deep_silence_2_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

With the ODD now in place, it doesn't really matter if it looks great or not, because you simply close off the door panel and make it go away visually. What I will say is that the pair of tool-free clips now in use is very sturdy, and the drive doesn't move around at all.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5249_34_nanoxia_deep_silence_2_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

With everything inside, using a full ATX motherboard, and a pretty long video card, you can see the DS2 has plenty of room for the E-ATX if you want to use that. If not, you do have room to mount a radiator in front and not cause any issues.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5249_35_nanoxia_deep_silence_2_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

In the back, the dust shield, the card, and the PSU couldn't have been much easier to install. Even the gasket the PSU was not an issue, but I did have to flex the back of the chassis slightly to align the cards screw holes with the support bracket.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5249_36_nanoxia_deep_silence_2_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

I do really like the management offered behind the tray. Even with a bunch of wires coming from the front of the chassis, including the fan controller wiring, you do end up with a really clean finished product. This didn't even take much thought or effort on my part, it just sort of fell into place.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5249_37_nanoxia_deep_silence_2_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Now that the case is all back together, without powering the system, there is nothing that changes about the aesthetics, unless you are looking at the back of the chassis, from what we were given out of the box.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5249_38_nanoxia_deep_silence_2_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Since there is only a slight hum from the chassis when it does get powered up, if it weren't for the green LED ring around the power button, it would be tough to tell if the system was even powered on at all.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5249_39_nanoxia_deep_silence_2_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

From this distance the Deep Silence 2 is almost inaudible, and with the angle of this image, it is almost impossible to see the green ring that is currently lit on top of the chassis. This is not bad, but good, because with this chassis being placed in a bedroom or maybe a home theater environment, the lighting isn't going to annoy users at all.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases