TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,139 Reviews & Articles | 39,446 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

FUNC MS-3 Laser Gaming Mouse Review - Inside the MS-3

FUNC MS-3 Laser Gaming Mouse Review
FUNC returns to the peripherals game after some years with its MS-3 laser gaming mouse as well as Surface 1030 L gaming pad. Was the wait worth it?
| Mice in Peripherals | Posted: Mar 16, 2013 5:51 am
TweakTown Rating: 94%Manufacturer: FUNC

Inside the MS-3

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5248_16_func_ms_3_laser_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

After removing all of the feet and the screws under them, I had to be careful of the ribbon cable and went ahead and disconnected it so you could see inside of both halves of the MS-3.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5248_17_func_ms_3_laser_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Verifying what the specs chart said there sure are Omron switches used inside of this mouse. This will ensure long life and many clicks before these switches would fail.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5248_18_func_ms_3_laser_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Again, Omron switches are found for both the left and right click buttons, and then there are lower grade switches used throughout for the rest of the functionality. What strikes me a bit odd is the PCB mounted in the scroll wheel.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5248_19_func_ms_3_laser_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Come to find out, after removing the screw and gently lifting the board off the stems, you can see this is just so that there was a place to put the LED that will later illuminate the scroll wheel.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5248_20_func_ms_3_laser_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Here we have the control center of the MS-3. With Weltrend chips in place to control things going in and out of the mouse to the PC and vice versa along with the 512kb memory IC.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5248_21_func_ms_3_laser_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Here we have the Avago ADNS 9500 laser sensor. Currently the second best offering, only to be outdone by the 9800. Honestly I can appreciate the use of this sensor since I cannot control 8200 DPI anyways - the max of 5670 DPI set with this mouse is plenty for me.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5248_22_func_ms_3_laser_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

I had to completely remove the PCB to get a look at the mute button since it was soldered to the bottom. You can see the button is more of a long paddle that reaches in to this super thin switch.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5248_23_func_ms_3_laser_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

With the mouse now back together I powered it up to show the default lighting scheme. The Instant Aim button has a ring that illuminates. It is currently orange like the rest, but can be customized to anything you desire.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5248_24_func_ms_3_laser_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

The other part of the customizable lighting system is the one found in the scroll wheel that allows the white rings to now be the color of the LED we saw inside of it.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5248_25_func_ms_3_laser_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

The three orange lines seen here are denoting that I am set to the highest of three DPI levels. These lights will always be orange; no matter how the other two lights are set.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases