TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,207 Reviews & Articles | 40,150 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: GTA V will have 'just for PC' features, including a video editor

Corsair Hydro Series H110 AIO CPU Cooler Review - Installation and Finished Product

Corsair Hydro Series H110 AIO CPU Cooler Review
The largest AIO from Corsair has arrived. It's time to take the Hydro Series H110 through its paces and see what it can do.
| CPU Liquid Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Mar 13, 2013 1:54 am
TweakTown Rating: 87%Manufacturer: Corsair

Installation and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5245_20_corsair_hydro_series_h110_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The first thing I did to get the installation underway was to add the fans to the radiator. Typically these would be installed through a chassis as well, but since I use an open air system to test with, the fan mounting is irrelevant to the side of the radiator or which way they are facing.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5245_21_corsair_hydro_series_h110_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

With the fans on, you now get to see the Hydro Series H110 in all its glory ready to be installed to the system so we can test it.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5245_22_corsair_hydro_series_h110_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Then I went ahead and got the back plate ready by installing the metal inserts in the proper holes and applying the foam that will help keep the plate off the motherboard, but also acts to hold it to the board to make installation a touch easier, especially if done in a chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5245_23_corsair_hydro_series_h110_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

There we have the back plate now added to the back of the motherboard. Yes, I know the plate is a bit crooked, but with the holes provided for the multiple sockets, they have to do this to make it all work.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5245_24_corsair_hydro_series_h110_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Taking the top bracket, adding in the two piece clips with the LGA1155/1156 pointing out, I then slid in the thumbscrew. Repeat this on all four corners and you are almost ready to install the head unit.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5245_25_corsair_hydro_series_h110_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The last step to installing the hardware to the cooler is to put the top metal ring with the screws onto the head unit, and lock the tabs into the slots. Once that is complete, you just have to snap in the plastic lock ring to keep the hardware in place as you mount this.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5245_26_corsair_hydro_series_h110_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

One thing the H110 lacks from the hardware kit is the Y-splitter to make powering the fans on the H110 much easier. This is a very cheap part to add to a kit, and I cannot understand why Corsair wouldn't include on at this price point.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5245_27_corsair_hydro_series_h110_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

With the H110 installed on the motherboard, there are zero clearance issues around the socket. With the length of tubing supplied, there will be no issues getting the H110 installed in the top of a chassis that provides dual 140mm mounting there.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases