TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,144 Reviews & Articles | 39,490 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Thecus N7510 7-Bay Affordable Tower NAS Review - Thecus N7510 7-Bay NAS

Thecus N7510 7-Bay Affordable Tower NAS Review
Thecus strikes gold with the new N7510, a high performance NAS that costs less than $100 per drive bay, and it has more features than you'll ever use. This is the model we've waited a long time for.
| SOHO NAS/DAS in Storage | Posted: Mar 11, 2013 3:35 pm
TweakTown Rating: 94%Manufacturer: Thecus

Thecus N7510 7-Bay NAS

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5242_11_thecus_n7510_7_bay_affordable_tower_nas_review.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the Thecus N7510. The case is nearly identical to the N7700 Pro V2, Thecus's flag ship small business NAS. The N7510 uses brushed aluminum instead of painted aluminum and the look is stunning. Not that look really matters unless you want your NAS front and center for your media center.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5242_12_thecus_n7510_7_bay_affordable_tower_nas_review.jpg

 

With the door open, we see the seven drive bays. The drive bays have individual locks for security.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5242_13_thecus_n7510_7_bay_affordable_tower_nas_review.jpg

 

Inside we found SAS capable connectors, but we didn't test our unit with SAS HDDs.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5242_14_thecus_n7510_7_bay_affordable_tower_nas_review.jpg

 

I never realized how useful the front display was on NAS products until I tested a NAS without a digital readout.

 

The N7510 display is hidden under a one-way reflective surface. It's kind of like the one-way mirrors you see on Law and Order in the police station. With the NAS on the display shows IP addresses for the NAS and you can even use it to configure your NAS without a client PC connected to it.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5242_15_thecus_n7510_7_bay_affordable_tower_nas_review.jpg

 

The front left edge has a cluster of status LEDs that show power and activity. There are also two USB 3.0 ports as well as the power button.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5242_16_thecus_n7510_7_bay_affordable_tower_nas_review.jpg

 

Both sides are solid so all of the ventilation passes over the HDDs to keep them cool.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5242_17_thecus_n7510_7_bay_affordable_tower_nas_review.jpg

 

The back is where most of the magic happens.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5242_18_thecus_n7510_7_bay_affordable_tower_nas_review.jpg

 

The power supply is built in and has its own cooling fan.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5242_19_thecus_n7510_7_bay_affordable_tower_nas_review.jpg

 

The lower I/O ports are spaced well and allow for oversized connectors when needed. At the top are two gigabit Ethernet ports that can be teamed in the software to double throughput and reduce latency. Four USB 2.0 ports are on the back as well as a single eSATA port.

 

The N7510 includes new A/V options, HDMI display (with audio) and 2 channel audio out, line level input and mic input.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5242_20_thecus_n7510_7_bay_affordable_tower_nas_review.jpg

 

There is a slot at the top for add in cards but the N7510 doesn't use a PCIe 8x connector so it doesn't support 10GbE Ethernet. To get 10GbE you need to move to the higher cost N7700 Pro V2 or better.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5242_21_thecus_n7510_7_bay_affordable_tower_nas_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5242_22_thecus_n7510_7_bay_affordable_tower_nas_review.jpg

 

Here we see the internal connector. It's a one lane PCIe port with another one lane port behind it.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5242_23_thecus_n7510_7_bay_affordable_tower_nas_review.jpg

 

The N7510 doesn't give us easy access to the DRAM slots. To get to the RAM slots to increase RAM capacity you must remove several components, which would likely void the warranty.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases