TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,142 Reviews & Articles | 39,484 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

ECS A85F2-A GOLDEN (AMD A85X) Motherboard Review - BIOS

ECS A85F2-A GOLDEN (AMD A85X) Motherboard Review
We take a look at the "GOLDEN" Series A85X based motherboard from the folks over at ECS. There's certainly gold featured everywhere, but it does it deserved your gold?
| Socket FM2 in Motherboards | Posted: Mar 7, 2013 6:17 am
TweakTown Rating: 88%Manufacturer: ECS

BIOS

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5238_18_ecs_a85f2_a_golden_amd_a85x_motherboard_review.jpg

 

When we first head into the BIOS we're greeted with a new "EZ Mode" interface which we haven't seen before. You can see looking at it we've got the standard run down of information. Of course if you want to start messing around in the BIOS you'll want to head up to the top right corner and into the advanced section.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5238_19_ecs_a85f2_a_golden_amd_a85x_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5238_20_ecs_a85f2_a_golden_amd_a85x_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5238_21_ecs_a85f2_a_golden_amd_a85x_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5238_22_ecs_a85f2_a_golden_amd_a85x_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5238_23_ecs_a85f2_a_golden_amd_a85x_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5238_24_ecs_a85f2_a_golden_amd_a85x_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5238_25_ecs_a85f2_a_golden_amd_a85x_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Heading into the advanced section the overall layout is similar to what we've seen from ECS before, but in this instance, we've got a new color scheme. ECS still haven't included the ability to screenshot the BIOS, which puts them behind the times.

 

If you want to do any overclocking you're going to want to be in the M.I.B X area of the board. All the options you'd expect are here, but they're just not setup as nicely as we see from other brand's boards. ECS really could do with grabbing a board from ASRock and ASUS to use as a guideline for the BIOS as they really do offer the most pleasurable BIOSs to use.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases