TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,923 Reviews & Articles | 38,167 News Posts

ECS A85F2-A GOLDEN (AMD A85X) Motherboard Review - ECS A85F2-A GOLDEN Motherboard

ECS A85F2-A GOLDEN (AMD A85X) Motherboard Review

We take a look at the "GOLDEN" Series A85X based motherboard from the folks over at ECS. There's certainly gold featured everywhere, but it does it deserved your gold?

| Socket FM2 in Motherboards | Posted: Mar 7, 2013 6:17 am
TweakTown Rating: 88%      Manufacturer: ECS

ECS A85F2-A GOLDEN Motherboard

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5238_10_ecs_a85f2_a_golden_amd_a85x_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Taking a look at the motherboard we've got a fairly good looking board. We've pretty much got a black setup with some gold highlights throughout the board which stand out. Let's move in a bit closer, though, and find out exactly what is going on with the board we've got here today.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5238_11_ecs_a85f2_a_golden_amd_a85x_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Looking above we can see the expansion slots. Towards the bottom of the board we've got two legacy PCI slots. Along with them we've got three PCIe x1 slots and two PCI x16 slots. In the event you're running two cards, the PCIe x16 slots will run at x8 / x8, as you'd expect.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5238_12_ecs_a85f2_a_golden_amd_a85x_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Heading across the bottom of the motherboard we've got a fairly standard setup of headers here. They include front panel audio, multiple fan and USB 2.0 headers, USB 3.0 and a front panel header on the far right.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5238_13_ecs_a85f2_a_golden_amd_a85x_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Turning the corner we've got the BIOS battery and just above that you can see seven SATA ports. All are SATA III and all run off the AMD A85X chipset.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5238_14_ecs_a85f2_a_golden_amd_a85x_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Heading north we've got the main 24-pin ATX power connector in a fairly standard location along with four DIMM slots. Here we've got support for up to 64GB of DDR3 at speeds ranging from 1333MHz DDR to 2600MHz DDR via overclocking.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5238_15_ecs_a85f2_a_golden_amd_a85x_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5238_16_ecs_a85f2_a_golden_amd_a85x_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Across the top of the motherboard you can see the main 8-pin CPU connector and moving around to the socket area you can see there's not much at all going on with a very clean setup. You can see the main heatsink along with a closer look at some of the gold components that ECS are using.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5238_17_ecs_a85f2_a_golden_amd_a85x_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Finally we finish off with the I/O side of things. The first thing that stands out is of course the gold that is plastered all over it. Starting from the left the first thing you might notice is what we don't have. Normally we'd always see a PS/2 connector here, but you can see ECS have opted to drop it and instead we start off with a DVI, VGA, HDMI and DisplayPort connectors for video output.

 

Next to that we've got a clear CMOS button, two USB 2.0 ports and an eSATA port running off the A85X chipset. Four USB 3.0 ports, Gigabit networking via the Realtek 8111E chipset and an optical out port alongside five auxiliary ports giving us 8 Channel audio via the VIA VT 1819S chip.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases