TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,159 Reviews & Articles | 39,583 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Star Citizen creator: "I don't care about consoles"

Monster Digital Daytona 240GB SSD Review - Monster Digital Daytona 240GB SSD

Monster Digital Daytona 240GB SSD Review
We finally received TRIM enabled firmware for the Daytona, a SSD we've had for several months. The late firmware was just the start of issues that surround the Daytona and the sum of all of these problems lead us to question anyone buying a SSD from Monster Digital.
| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Mar 7, 2013 3:10 pm
TweakTown Rating: 58%Manufacturer: Monster Digital

Monster Digital Daytona 240GB SSD

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5237_01_monster_digital_daytona_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Daytona has a very nice case made from thick metal that we assume was stamped into shape. The drive feels solid and comes off like a premium SSD.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5237_06_monster_digital_daytona_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

On the back of the drive we found the typical model and serial number. Monster claims Daytona is made in the USA and we found references to this in a number of places including the back of the drive. There are only a few SSD manufacturers in the USA, but we don't think any would claim this product.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5237_07_monster_digital_daytona_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Daytona is a 7mm drive, one of the first we received for review, but the other issues held this one up for quite a long time.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5237_08_monster_digital_daytona_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

SATA power and data connections are offset as they should be. Monster doesn't ship a desktop adapter bracket with Daytona, but this drive will fit in a large number of notebooks and ultrabooks.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5237_09_monster_digital_daytona_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Daytona uses the LSI SandForce SF-2281 VB1 controller, a proven component that's used in a number of very good SSDs on the market today. The NAND is 32nm Toshiba which is a bit odd since we are now down to 19nm, but even when our sample arrived, 24nm Toggle was all over the place. Toshiba's specs show a 40MB/s interface speed, a little slower than IMFT's async 50MB/s performance.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5237_10_monster_digital_daytona_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

There are sixteen NAND chips, eight on each side.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5237_11_monster_digital_daytona_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

While updating the drive's firmware I snapped a quick shot of the firmware update software. The download was massive for an update, over 700MB and you have to burn it to a DVD or flash drive. This is a Linux boot disk with a quick link on the desktop to flash the SSD.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases