TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,934 Reviews & Articles | 38,240 News Posts

Sapphire Vapor-X Universal CPU Cooler Review - Installation and Finished Product

Sapphire Vapor-X Universal CPU Cooler Review

The long wait has finally ended. Sapphire finally delivers the Vapor-X CPU cooler for its world debut. We're a bit late to the game, but with good reason.

| CPU Air Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Mar 4, 2013 9:00 pm
TweakTown Rating: 94%      Manufacturer: Sapphire

Installation and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5235_28_sapphire_vapor_x_universal_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Running the universal risers through the motherboard, washer side down of course, you then tighten the nuts onto the back plate and all the basic hardware is locked into place.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5235_29_sapphire_vapor_x_universal_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

When you flip the board over you will just have the four risers sticking up. This is where you take the four small screws and secure the top plate with the "upside" printed on it facing up.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5235_30_sapphire_vapor_x_universal_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The fans need to be off the Vapor-X to secure it to the rest of the hardware. You simply need to alternate every couple of turns of the driver between this and the other side. The screws will bottom out when fully tightened.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5235_31_sapphire_vapor_x_universal_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Stepping back to see how big the Vapor-X is, you can see a lot of the motherboard still, and there are just slight issues with memory on the right side, but no issues getting the 8-pin EPS cable into place.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5235_32_sapphire_vapor_x_universal_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

This is just a bit of a glamour shot as I was spinning the board around to gauge the memory clearance, but it does give you an idea of the scale of the Vapor-X as well.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5235_33_sapphire_vapor_x_universal_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

If you run bare sticks like I do, you can see the Vapor-X will allow for them to fit without issues. In fact, I was able to slide a stick into all four slots.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5235_34_sapphire_vapor_x_universal_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

This is where the slight issue comes in. If you have tall heat spreaders, you can use the fourth slot, but it left the memory sitting at a pretty bad angle and I wasn't willing to lock it fully into place.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5235_35_sapphire_vapor_x_universal_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

As I allowed the cooler to run for a couple of hours before testing to set in the TIM a bit and allow the fans the chance to free up on the bearings a bit, I thought it was a great time to snap an image of the Vapor-X in all of its blue LED glory.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases