TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,158 Reviews & Articles | 39,568 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Star Citizen creator: "I don't care about consoles"

Sapphire Vapor-X Universal CPU Cooler Review - Sapphire Vapor-X Continued

Sapphire Vapor-X Universal CPU Cooler Review
The long wait has finally ended. Sapphire finally delivers the Vapor-X CPU cooler for its world debut. We're a bit late to the game, but with good reason.
| CPU Air Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Mar 4, 2013 9:00 pm
TweakTown Rating: 94%Manufacturer: Sapphire

Sapphire Vapor-X Continued

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5235_15_sapphire_vapor_x_universal_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Flipping the cooler around so that you can actually see how the pipes are mounted between the skived heat sink shows that the pipes are sandwiched between the two with some ugly crimping done near that junction.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5235_16_sapphire_vapor_x_universal_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The thick base is the Vapor Chamber, and for those that don't know, this works much like a heat pipe, but on a greater scale. Between the two outer layers of copper that were nickel plated, there is a liquid inside that will actually flow from the bottom with heat, and as it cools, the vapours condense and drop to the bottom to repeat the process.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5235_17_sapphire_vapor_x_universal_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Pulling off the sticker you can see the base still shows some of its milling marks. I also forgot to run a razor across the base of the cooler in my rush to get this cooler live on time, but I will show you that near the end showing the condition of the base.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5235_18_sapphire_vapor_x_universal_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

I removed all of the components from the cooler so we could see what was underneath all of that armor. You can see the pipes are spread evenly across the fins and there is an arrow pointing to where the LED wire should go when you replace the top.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5235_19_sapphire_vapor_x_universal_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Now you can see the 63 aluminum fins, and you can see the side design with the closed off sections and the middle dipping in to accept the fan shrouds clips.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5235_20_sapphire_vapor_x_universal_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

I didn't want to tear this completely apart as I didn't want to take the chance of damaging this PCB just to show you some LEDs soldered on the board. Since I did have it off, I thought I may as well show you how it can be removed if you had ideas on modding this cooler.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5235_21_sapphire_vapor_x_universal_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

As for the fans that cool the Vapor-X, it comes equipped with a pair of Martech DF1202512SEUN fans and the shrouds have anti-vibration pads on them to keep these 2200 RPM fans from rattling the fins.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases