TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,676 Reviews & Articles | 36,072 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

Sapphire Vapor-X Universal CPU Cooler Review - Sapphire Vapor-X Universal CPU Cooler

Sapphire Vapor-X Universal CPU Cooler Review

The long wait has finally ended. Sapphire finally delivers the Vapor-X CPU cooler for its world debut. We're a bit late to the game, but with good reason.

| CPU Air Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Mar 4, 2013 9:00 pm
TweakTown Rating: 94%      Manufacturer: Sapphire

Sapphire Vapor-X Universal CPU Cooler

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5235_07_sapphire_vapor_x_universal_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

From the front of the Vapor-X you can see it is completely covered by this familiar 120mm fan design. The bulk of the fan is exposed, but the top and sides are held by the shroud to keep the fan secured to the cooler body.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5235_08_sapphire_vapor_x_universal_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

On the side there are the Sapphire printed shrouds clipping near the center of the cooler as they dive down to avoid the bit from the top of the cooler. You can also notice the majority of the side is closed off where it wasn't needed to clip the shrouds on.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5235_09_sapphire_vapor_x_universal_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Since this side of the fan would be exposed, I do like that the factory sticker has been replaced with a Vapor-X logo sticker. It does make the cooler look a bit better from this angle. I also wanted to tease you a bit with a bit of the top of the three piece shroud now showing.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5235_10_sapphire_vapor_x_universal_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

This side of the Vapor-X has the same shroud clips to hold on the fans, but this time there is a two wire clip that you can disconnect. Since the front fan also powers the LEDs in the top, when you remove the fans to install the cooler, they made an easy way to disconnect the LEDs rather than making you remove the top.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5235_11_sapphire_vapor_x_universal_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Already in line and ready to be plugged into the motherboard header, Sapphire added a Y-splitter to allow both 4-pin PWM connections on the fan to run from only one header on the motherboard to keep both fans equal according to your bios settings.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5235_12_sapphire_vapor_x_universal_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The top of the cooler is finished with a plastic cover to form fit to the shrouds on the fans. In the middle is the Sapphire name on a metal plaque with blue strips on either side that will glow when the cooler is powered up. There is also the Vapor-X name on the right side that will also illuminate.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5235_13_sapphire_vapor_x_universal_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Flipping the cooler over we can see the way the Vapor-X is constructed. There is a large Vapor Chamber at the bottom, the heat pipes come off the top of it and are pressed into the fins.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5235_14_sapphire_vapor_x_universal_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Besides the made in China sticker, I did want to get a little closer to show that the fins do fit securely around each of the four heat pipes as they are pressed over them.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below