TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,048 Reviews & Articles | 38,912 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win a Biostar J1800NH2 Motherboard (Global Entry!)

Silverstone Redline Series SST-RL04B Mid-Tower Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

Silverstone Redline Series SST-RL04B Mid-Tower Chassis Review
It's time to see the Redline series, and see what a budget friendly chassis looks like from Silverstone with the SST-RL04B.
| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Mar 6, 2013 7:25 am
TweakTown Rating: 89%Manufacturer: Silverstone

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5232_28_silverstone_redline_series_sst_rl04b_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The way the RL04 is designed, you shouldn't have to remove the bezel since the 5.25" bay covers remove from the outside. Since the wires are attached to the bezel, the only reason to be in here at all and possible stretching the wiring would be to add a second fan.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5232_29_silverstone_redline_series_sst_rl04b_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Removing the top cover and sliding in the DVD drive, the way it lines up with the front bezel makes it look like it belongs there. With the way this area is inset anyways, adding the drive doesn't detract from the styling of the bezel.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5232_30_silverstone_redline_series_sst_rl04b_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

I was really impressed with what I could get in here. I got the 165mm tower cooler on the CPU, and I also got the HIS Radeon HD 7950 in with no issues. I did dress things up a bit with sleeved cables, but it was more to show the capabilities behind the tray.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5232_31_silverstone_redline_series_sst_rl04b_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Even in the back of the case, the PSU, the card, and the rear I/O dust shield went in without much effort. To secure the cards, using the hex head screws makes things easy enough, and with just a tab holding the plastic cover, it isn't too much of an issue to deal with.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5232_32_silverstone_redline_series_sst_rl04b_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

As you can see, it is very easy to block off the storage bays with extra wiring, but I was able to get some really thick connections laid out in the wiring to show that the 20mm of space on the right is plenty. Because of the bump in the door, these wires never got close to that panel.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5232_33_silverstone_redline_series_sst_rl04b_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Taking a step back to appreciate the completed chassis build, even here, you really can only tell that this has a system in it due to the DVD drive showing. Otherwise there is nothing that changes much in the aesthetics.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5232_34_silverstone_redline_series_sst_rl04b_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

I tried a couple of places for the dust filter. Here I found it just oddly shaped for the job and on the inside the plastic frame is too large to even allow the magnets to attach.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5232_35_silverstone_redline_series_sst_rl04b_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The dust filter does seem to fit the side panel a little better, but again the lines don't match. The real issue I had here is that the magnets aren't strong enough to keep the filter attached to the chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5232_36_silverstone_redline_series_sst_rl04b_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The way the chassis is shipped from Silverstone, if it weren't for the slight red glow of the red logo for the power button, you really have to get down at an angle like this to even get any of the red LED lighting from the front 120mm fan. A second red LED fan is almost a must in this chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5232_37_silverstone_redline_series_sst_rl04b_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

When you step back again to look at the chassis as we normally do, you can barely even see the red glow of the Silverstone logo on the bezel, and you definitely can't see any of the glow from the front fan. This is a good thing though, as most of these will end up in bedrooms, and too much LED lighting can get to be an issue anyways.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases