TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,159 Reviews & Articles | 39,584 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Star Citizen creator: "I don't care about consoles"

Origin EON17-S Gaming Notebook Review - System Performance

Origin EON17-S Gaming Notebook Review
We take a look at Origin's EON17-S gaming laptop. This beast features dual SSDs in RAID 0, a quad-core CPU and a 680M GPU.
| Gaming Laptops in Laptops | Posted: Feb 22, 2013 7:23 am
TweakTown Rating: 93%Manufacturer: Origin

PCMark 7

 

Version and / or Patch Used: 1.0.4.0

Developer Homepage: http://www.futuremark.com

Product Homepage: http://www.pcmark.com/benchmarks/

 

 

PCMark 7 is a great utility for testing a PC's all-around capabilities. It tests all aspects of the computer, from graphics performance to hard disk performance and attempts to put a score on it, which is not an easy task.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5217_73_needs_rating_origin_eon17_s_gaming_notebook_review.png

 

Thanks to the EON17-S' dual SSDs in RAID 0, Futuremark's PCMark 7 absolutely loves the system as an all-around system. In the synthetic benchmarks used by PCMark, the system performs the best out of any to come through our lab.

 

 

Mobile Mark 2012

 

Version and / or Patch Used: 1.0.0.118

Developer Homepage: http://www.bapco.com

Product Homepage: http://bapco.com/products/mobilemark2012/

 

 

MobileMark 2012 is a premier benchmarking tool produced by BAPCo. It has several different scenarios built-in and allows you to choose which to run. It runs the test on battery life so that it produces both a score for the performance aspect and a run time for battery life.

 

For our testing, we chose the Office Productivity line of testing. The "Performance Qualification Rating" and battery life (in minutes) is reported below in the charts.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5217_74_needs_rating_origin_eon17_s_gaming_notebook_review.png

 

Curiously enough, the EON17-S falls short of some of the other systems we've had through our lab in the MobileMark benchmark. It's not clear exactly why this system is being outperformed by the others, but the EON17-S is designed to be a gaming workhorse, not an office machine.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5217_75_needs_rating_origin_eon17_s_gaming_notebook_review.png

 

Considering the awesome performance numbers put up by the EON17-S, its battery life comes in a respectable 174 minutes, which equates to nearly three hours.

 

 

CrystalDiskMark

 

Version and / or Patch Used: 3.0 Technical Preview

Developer Homepage: http://www.crystalmark.info

Product Homepage: http://crystalmark.info/software/CrystalDiskMark/index-e.html

Download here: http://crystaldew.info/category/software/crystaldiskmark

 

CrystalDiskMark is a disk benchmark software that allows us to benchmark 4K and 4K queue depths with accuracy.

 

Key Features:-

 

* Sequential reads/writes

* Random 4KB/512KB reads/writes

* Text copy

* Change dialog design

* internationalization (i18n)

 

Note: Crystal Disk Mark 3.0 Technical Preview was used for these tests since it offers the ability to measure native command queuing at 4 and 32.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5217_76_needs_rating_origin_eon17_s_gaming_notebook_review.png

 

The EON17-S comes with the option of SSDs in RAID 0. This really increases the bandwidth available to the operating system and running programs and allows the system to easily destroy the competition when it comes to read performance.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5217_77_needs_rating_origin_eon17_s_gaming_notebook_review.png

 

The SSDs also help the EON17-S when it comes to write performance and the system continues to top our charts in terms of performance.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Laptops content at our Laptops reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases