TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,008 Reviews & Articles | 38,762 News Posts

Thermalright AXP-100 Low-Profile CPU Cooler Review - Thermalright AXP-100 CPU Cooler

Thermalright AXP-100 Low-Profile CPU Cooler Review
Thinking Mini-ITX or HTPC for your next build? Thermalright drops off the AXP-100 made exactly for these environments, and it comes with options.
| CPU Air Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Feb 27, 2013 10:00 pm
TweakTown Rating: 97%Manufacturer: Thermalright

Thermalright AXP-100 CPU Cooler

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5216_08_thermalright_axp_100_low_profile_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Starting with the side of the cooler, the heat pipes terminate as they exit it, and you can see that Thermalright adds caps to the six pipe ends, and each has the Thermalright logo on it. The screws on the outer edges are to hold on the fan mounting plates you will see in the next few images.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5216_09_thermalright_axp_100_low_profile_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Each of the 39 fins of the cooler have tabs bent on the sides to keep the fins spaced properly. There is a section of five fins that are cut much shorter, exposing a heat pipe, but this is to allow access to the mounting hardware.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5216_10_thermalright_axp_100_low_profile_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Since we are dealing with 44mm in total height, the six 6mm heat pipes are making some pretty tight bends to make it from the copper base, out and up, and then bending again as they return into the fins. Even so, Thermalright accomplished this with minimal distortion to the pipes.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5216_11_thermalright_axp_100_low_profile_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

This is a direct match to the other side of the AXP-100, including the five shorter fins to allow you to get a screwdriver through the cooler body.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5216_12_thermalright_axp_100_low_profile_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

This image shows not only the two piece base that surrounds the pipes, but it also shows the thick wire support system that will keep users from deforming the pipes or changing the angle of this cooler on accident. Great little addition in my opinion, as I have had to re-bend other C-style coolers after using them a bit.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5216_13_thermalright_axp_100_low_profile_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Since the entire cooler is nickel plated, you are given a protective sticker to keep the base in clean and unmolested condition. The sticker also has the warning on it to be sure to remove this prior to installation.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5216_14_thermalright_axp_100_low_profile_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The only think I had close at hand was one of my business cards, so I grabbed it to show just how finely polished this base is. Near the edges, you will find slight deformation of the mating surface, but where the IHS makes contact on the base, it is very level and there was no light visible under the razor.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5216_15_thermalright_axp_100_low_profile_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The 14mm thick, 100mm in diameter fan that is included in the box is what you are looking at here. The frame is a light brown, and the nine blades of the TY-100 are an olive green. With four wires leaving the fan motor, you can also assume there is a 4-pin PWM connection to feed this fan.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases