TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,672 Reviews & Articles | 36,052 News Posts

Zalman MS800 ATX Mid-Tower Chassis Review - Inside the MS800

Zalman MS800 ATX Mid-Tower Chassis Review

It's time to make a new folder in our case database as we get sent our first case from Zalman - the MS800 mid-tower chassis.

| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Feb 26, 2013 7:07 pm
TweakTown Rating: 83%      Manufacturer: Zalman

Inside the MS800

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5215_14_zalman_ms800_atx_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

When I first removed the doors, I found that the plastic bag that was tied to the drive bays had broken and the instructions, the hardware, as well as an extra fan were just floating about inside the chassis when it arrived.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5215_15_zalman_ms800_atx_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Off to the left you can see the GPU support system that will also support a fan to aid airflow mid chassis. To the right you see all of the ten 5.25" drive bays. All of the bays use a tool-free clip on this side, but only the four that have adapter trays are screwed in on the other side currently.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5215_16_zalman_ms800_atx_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Removing all of the bay covers on the front bezel helps to show these trays off. Behind the cover with the option for a floppy drive or card reader, there is an adapter tray. If you don't have plans for these options, this can also be used as a storage tray.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5215_17_zalman_ms800_atx_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Down at the bottom are three more identical adapters. While at the top it is intended for certain devices, they are all equipped to take on 3.5" and 2.5" storage drives with the holes in the bottom of each of the trays.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5215_18_zalman_ms800_atx_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The manual and the specifications both say there is room for 120mm fans at the top of the chassis, but they neglected to mention that there is also room for 140mm fans as well. Also you can see quite a distance to the top stand-offs, and you should easily fit a dual radiator AIO up here.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5215_19_zalman_ms800_atx_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The motherboard tray offers a large CPU access hole that will allow motherboards a chance to cool the sockets and the back of the SIMM slots. Around the tray there are seven wire management holes, but they lack grommets.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5215_20_zalman_ms800_atx_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The floor of the chassis has rubber support rails for the PSU to sit on and a well-ventilated area between them to allow the PSU to draw in a lot of fresh air. In front of that you again have the option to install a 120mm or 140mm fan.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5215_21_zalman_ms800_atx_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Inside of the rear of the MS800 you see the 120mm exhaust fan somewhat mounted on the back. It was at this point that I noticed it only has two screws in it, and both are stripped. As for the slots, since they are all the way back to allow for longer cards, you have to access those screws from the outside.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5215_22_zalman_ms800_atx_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Behind the motherboard tray there is maybe 2mm of room to run any wiring. There is very little inset to the whole right side. This is why they run all the wiring to the left to give you a hint that the sixteen wire tie points under the wiring is where it needs to run.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5215_23_zalman_ms800_atx_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The wiring for the most part is black; those being the native USB 3.0, USB 2.0 and HD Audio. The front panel connectors for power and such are on a ribbon of rainbow colors, and at the top you can see the yellow and green wires of the six fan leads and the Molex connection to power the fan controller.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below