TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,672 Reviews & Articles | 36,055 News Posts

GIGABYTE X79S-UP5-Wi-Fi (Intel C606) Motherboard Review - BIOS

GIGABYTE X79S-UP5-Wi-Fi (Intel C606) Motherboard Review

It's been a while since we've looked at an X79 Express based motherboard, but this one from GIGABYTE is a little different since it uses the different Intel C606 chipset.

| Socket LGA 2011 in Motherboards | Posted: Feb 22, 2013 6:37 pm
TweakTown Rating: 97%      Manufacturer: GIGABYTE

BIOS

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5210_18_gigabyte_x79s_up5_wifi_intel_c606_motherboard_review.png

 

Heading into the BIOS area you're really not going to see anything that you aren't too familiar with even though we're dealing with a server chipset here.

 

After updating to the latest BIOS we're greeted by the 3D BIOS when we first get in. As we've mentioned before, we've never been a huge fan of this, as it tends to make the whole process of working around the BIOS a little slower. As always, though, we're not forced to use it and we head straight to the advanced section.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5210_19_gigabyte_x79s_up5_wifi_intel_c606_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5210_20_gigabyte_x79s_up5_wifi_intel_c606_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5210_21_gigabyte_x79s_up5_wifi_intel_c606_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5210_22_gigabyte_x79s_up5_wifi_intel_c606_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5210_23_gigabyte_x79s_up5_wifi_intel_c606_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5210_24_gigabyte_x79s_up5_wifi_intel_c606_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5210_25_gigabyte_x79s_up5_wifi_intel_c606_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5210_26_gigabyte_x79s_up5_wifi_intel_c606_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5210_27_gigabyte_x79s_up5_wifi_intel_c606_motherboard_review.png

 

If you've used a GIGABYTE UEFI BIOS since they introduced it you're going to know exactly what you're dealing with here. When it comes to the overclocking side of things you're going to want to be in the M.I.T. area of the BIOS which is the first screen in the advanced area. Here you've got all your normal abilities like adjusting frequencies, multiplier, RAM speeds and voltages to name just a few things.

 

Outside the M.I.T. area you've got the normal options available that give the ability to enable and disable certain features and technologies. We've got the ability to save profiles and in the bottom right corner you can see a list of short cuts to get around the BIOS including F8 to open up Q-Flash and update to the latest BIOS version via a USB drive.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below