TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,205 Reviews & Articles | 40,129 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: GTA V will have 'just for PC' features, including a video editor

Sony Xperia Tablet S Review - Features

Sony Xperia Tablet S Review
We take a look at Sony's Xperia Tablet S, the first Sony tablet to enter the TweakTown labs. Has it got what it takes to earn your hard-earned dollars?
| Tablets in Mobile Devices | Posted: Feb 15, 2013 11:05 pm
TweakTown Rating: 73%Manufacturer: Sony

Features

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5200_22_sony_xperia_tablet_s_review.png

 

Sony's Tablet S does have one trick up its sleeve, and that my friends, is Guest Mode. Guest Mode is something that Jelly Bean introduced, but Sony is doing it themselves on Ice Cream Sandwich. This is such a much-needed feature, as I will have my tablets on the kitchen counter, or in my office, and if someone pops in and needs to check something, they can - all without cracking their way into my precious and sometimes sensitive data - or they want to change my Facebook status and have a laugh... not anymore!

 

Guest Mode opens up the Tablet S to be more of a social device, without another user messing around with your data or settings. Guest Mode should be a standard feature on tablets, so Sony is definitely thinking in the right direction here.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5200_23_sony_xperia_tablet_s_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5200_24_sony_xperia_tablet_s_review.png

 

You can lock the Tablet S down, allowing guests access to limited applications - or you can let them loose by allowing unlimited applications to be used. This is a good way to give them access to just Facebook, YouTube and Chrome for example - keeping all of your apps out of their prying eyes.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5200_25_sony_xperia_tablet_s_review.png

 

Better yet, you can even set a code, so that guests require a code to be entered in before it unlocked Guest Mode. There's an option for no unlock code, too, if you trust those who will use your tablet.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5200_26_sony_xperia_tablet_s_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5200_29_sony_xperia_tablet_s_review.png

 

The above image is what my guest account looked like, allowing just Google Chrome and Play Music.

 

Sony also include a bunch of stock apps, with Crackle, File Transfer, Music Unlimited, Reader by Sony, Media Remote, Remote Control, OfficeSuite, Evernote, Socialife, Sony Select, Video Unlimited, Translate, WALKMAN and Xperia Link. These apps, I personally don't use whatsoever, but if you're a user of these apps, or of Sony's services, they're all there waiting for you.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5200_28_sony_xperia_tablet_s_review.png

 

OfficeSuite, Evernote, Socialife, Sony Select Games and some news are all kept on the desktop - which slow the tablet down. These widgets are what annoyed me on Samsung's Galaxy Note 10.1, and they're one of the first things I remove when using any tablet.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5200_27_sony_xperia_tablet_s_review.png

 

I'm a huge fan of SwiftKey, but the included keyboard that Sony provides with the Tablet S isn't too bad at all. The keys are set apart nicely, and they have a nice 'clicking' sound when they're tapped, too.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Mobile Devices content at our Mobile Devices reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases