TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,143 Reviews & Articles | 39,488 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Sony Xperia Tablet S Review - Unboxing & Look and Feel

Sony Xperia Tablet S Review
We take a look at Sony's Xperia Tablet S, the first Sony tablet to enter the TweakTown labs. Has it got what it takes to earn your hard-earned dollars?
| Tablets in Mobile Devices | Posted: Feb 15, 2013 11:05 pm
TweakTown Rating: 73%Manufacturer: Sony

Unboxing & Look and Feel

 

The start-up animation on the Tablet S is very cool, so it has a nice first impression feel left on me.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5200_14_sony_xperia_tablet_s_review.jpg

 

Above, we have a shot of the box - I haven't taken shots of the rest of the box as Sony haven't displayed anything worth looking at on the sides of the Tablet S' box.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5200_15_sony_xperia_tablet_s_review.jpg

 

Next up we have the included cables, which we can see on the right includes the proprietary - and annoying - cable used for syncing and charging.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5200_16_sony_xperia_tablet_s_review.jpg

 

Lastly, an up close shot of the AC adapter.

 

The look and feel of Sony's Xperia Tablet S is actually quite surprising - and it truly stands out from virtually every other tablet on the market with its folded book design.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5200_07_sony_xperia_tablet_s_review.jpg

 

The folded design of the Tablet S, it really is a striking design and it's great to see Sony doing something different in the tablet space.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5200_08_sony_xperia_tablet_s_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5200_10_sony_xperia_tablet_s_review.jpg

 

Sony have opted for a proprietary power and syncing cable, which is an annoyance. I always prefer micro USB as it's easier to charge my many smart devices from the one standard USB cable.

 

Now let's take a look around the Tablet S itself.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5200_09_sony_xperia_tablet_s_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5200_11_sony_xperia_tablet_s_review.jpg

 

We'll start at the bottom, where we have some very capable stereo speakers on the Tablet S. As you can see here, there are some raised stands on the bottom of the tablet which may not look like much, but they lift the Tablet S up just a few millimeters - enough for the sound to travel out from under the speakers when the Tablet S is laid down on a flat surface.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5200_12_sony_xperia_tablet_s_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5200_13_sony_xperia_tablet_s_review.jpg

 

Here we have the right side of the device, where we find the power button, the volume rocker - which sports a raised tab so you know where the 'volume up' button is - and it comes in handy! Just above the power button, to the upper left, is an activity LED which will flash on when the Tablet S is on charge.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5200_17_sony_xperia_tablet_s_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5200_18_sony_xperia_tablet_s_review.jpg

 

On the left side of the Tablet S, we have the headphone jack and SD card slot. The folded book design plays well with the slots on both sides of the Tablet S, something I came to really enjoy. It's not something you'd look at and think 'oh, well that's going to be great to hold', because it doesn't. But after using the Tablet S for a week or so for this review, I actually loved the folded book design.

 

It works well as you can have your hand gripped over the top of the tablet, and my relatively average sized hands can grab the underside of the folded back. It acts like a carrying method for the Tablet S and I loved it. I found myself carrying it like that more than once, and it was quite handy.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Mobile Devices content at our Mobile Devices reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases