TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,137 Reviews & Articles | 39,425 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Sentey LTP1000-SM 1000W 80 PLUS Platinum Power Supply Review - Inside the Box

Sentey LTP1000-SM 1000W 80 PLUS Platinum Power Supply Review
Sentey's new Platinum rated power supply performs great but, has other issues that need to be addressed.
| 80 PLUS Platinum PSUs in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Feb 21, 2013 8:48 am
TweakTown Rating: 88%Manufacturer: Sentey

Inside the Box

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5192_10_sentey_ltp1000_sm_1000w_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

After taking the top layer of foam padding out of the box, this is what you are left with. Lots of foam doesn't always mean things are safe if it isn't in the right places.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5192_11_sentey_ltp1000_sm_1000w_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

The power supply is finished in a semi-gloss black and as you can see, it is quite easy to leave fingerprints on the unit.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5192_12_sentey_ltp1000_sm_1000w_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

As was said above, lots of foam doesn't do any good if it isn't in the right places. Thankfully just pushing on the raised area was enough to straighten things out. If I had bought this from Newegg or somewhere else, I wouldn't be happy to have received it in this condition.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5192_13_sentey_ltp1000_sm_1000w_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

The other side presents us with the product logo. There is no I/O specification label on the unit that we received.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5192_14_sentey_ltp1000_sm_1000w_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Moving to the back, we find the standard honeycomb mesh grill with AC input and heavy duty on/off rocker switch. Also present is an unlabeled switch to control when the fan activates.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5192_15_sentey_ltp1000_sm_1000w_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

If you needed more confirmation that this is a Super Flower based unit, here are the cube connectors with rubber covers that we've seen on their power supplies for quite some time now.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5192_16_sentey_ltp1000_sm_1000w_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Cooling is provided via the 140mm fan with wire mesh grill.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5192_17_sentey_ltp1000_sm_1000w_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

All modular cables are of the flat ribbon type.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5192_18_sentey_ltp1000_sm_1000w_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Also included with the power supply is the mounting screws and AC input cord.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5192_27_sentey_ltp1000_sm_1000w_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Rounding out the contents of the box are the warranty card and the user manual.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases