TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,677 Reviews & Articles | 36,088 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

NZXT Phantom 630 High Performance Modular Full-Tower Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

NZXT Phantom 630 High Performance Modular Full-Tower Chassis Review

The fourth incarnation of this NZXT chassis has hit the market. Have a look at what the Phantom 630 case offers this time around.

| Full-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Feb 14, 2013 9:32 pm
TweakTown Rating: 96%      Manufacturer: NZXT

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5187_33_nzxt_phantom_630_high_performance_modular_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Since I have plans to install a small loop in this chassis, I went ahead and popped the top off the Phantom 630. You can see I needed to remove the 200mm fan already installed here, and both dust filters to do what I need to in here. What I really like is that the wiring is not attached to the top.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5187_34_nzxt_phantom_630_high_performance_modular_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

After a little bit of work, I now have my dual 120mm radiator hanging, and I am running the push/pull configuration since there was already room here for the extra fans.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5187_35_nzxt_phantom_630_high_performance_modular_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Without opening the door to see the optical drive installed in the top bay, really nothing changes about the looks in the Phantom 630 from the front when it is completed.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5187_36_nzxt_phantom_630_high_performance_modular_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Inside, there is a lot to discuss. The loop clears the motherboard with no issues there. The HDD racks are now out and this opens a lot of cooling potential otherwise blocked off. The finished product looks super clean, and it was relatively easy to do.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5187_37_nzxt_phantom_630_high_performance_modular_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The back fills out nicely and again, no real issues to discuss. The dust cover went in pretty easy, the card lines up and installs fine, and the power supply is easy to install resting on the large feet placed on the floor.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5187_38_nzxt_phantom_630_high_performance_modular_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

As I mentioned, there is a ton of room back here. As clean as the front of the build looked, here is the reason why. It may look a bit all over the place, but if you take your time, and lots of cable ties, you will eventually get to a maintained and out of the way setup similar to this.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5187_39_nzxt_phantom_630_high_performance_modular_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

All sealed back up, the NZXT Phantom 630 doesn't look much different from this angle when completed either. If it weren't for the peek at the video card through the window, you really don't see much change.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5187_40_nzxt_phantom_630_high_performance_modular_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

When you do add the power to this chassis, you have to swing over to the right side to see the lights as you push the power button. Since the fan is set to the highest of three positions in this image, all three lights are lit under it. The bar on the right side denoted the PC has power, but I never did find anything flashing to denote the SSD was active.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5187_41_nzxt_phantom_630_high_performance_modular_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

There is a little button near the fan controller that will turn on a set of "tail lights" on this case. This is so that even if the room is dark, if you need to swap mice, or possibly need to rearrange your monitor inputs, with this pair of LEDs, it can be done with ease.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5187_42_nzxt_phantom_630_high_performance_modular_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Since this is the side of the chassis that will likely be facing you when it is on the desk, you really don't see anything to say that the PC is running. In this image, the only give away to it actually running is the rear exhaust fan you can see through the window.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below