TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,158 Reviews & Articles | 39,568 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Star Citizen creator: "I don't care about consoles"

Zowie Gear EC1 Evo Black Competitive Gaming Mouse Review - Inside the EC1 eVo

Zowie Gear EC1 Evo Black Competitive Gaming Mouse Review
After almost two years, Zowie Gear gives us another chance to look at their products. Today we have the EC1 eVo mouse in black to give the once over.
| Mice in Peripherals | Posted: Feb 12, 2013 2:28 pm
TweakTown Rating: 93%Manufacturer: Zowie Gear

Inside the EC1 eVo

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5186_14_zowie_gear_ec1_evo_black_competitive_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

As I started to disassemble the mouse, it didn't take long to realize that this is made from a three piece shell. You have to remove the top portion first to gain access to a couple more screws inside the mouse.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5186_15_zowie_gear_ec1_evo_black_competitive_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

There we go, all the screws are out of the EC1 eVo and you can now see all three components that make up this mouse. There is the top part with the right and left click buttons, a center section that adds structure and support, and the lower section with all the goodies screwed onto it.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5186_16_zowie_gear_ec1_evo_black_competitive_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

The switches with white plungers first appeared to be Omron switches from a distance, but as you get closer, there is a lack of printing on these switches other than the Zowie name painted on the sides of them. There is also the LED that colors the scroll wheel lying over a Huano red switch.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5186_17_zowie_gear_ec1_evo_black_competitive_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

The page forward and page back buttons are also red Huano switches. If you look lust off to the left of them, you can see the painted name on the other switches as well.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5186_18_zowie_gear_ec1_evo_black_competitive_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

If you look just past the USB cable you can see the enCore III USB controller. It offers 24MHz, 32-bit architecture, has 16KB of memory on the chip, and is full speed with a rating of 12Mbps. This Cypress controller seems to have everything we need.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5186_19_zowie_gear_ec1_evo_black_competitive_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

To follow your every move, Zowie went with the Avago ADNS 3090 sensor that is optical in nature. While the maximum DPI is only 2300, don't let that scare you off. I find this sensor is equivalent to most laser sensors in the 5000 to 5500 DPI range - just as a comparison.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5186_20_zowie_gear_ec1_evo_black_competitive_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

With the EC1 eVo now reassembled, I added power to see the mouse lights up with a red LED denoting that I am currently set to 450 DPI.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5186_21_zowie_gear_ec1_evo_black_competitive_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

I flipped the mouse over, gave a single push to the DPI button and the scroll wheel turned purple. This is to inform me that I am now at the 1150 DPI setting.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5186_22_zowie_gear_ec1_evo_black_competitive_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Taking it to the third and final step of the DPI settings, the light turns blue behind the wheel, and now you are set to 2300 DPI.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5186_23_zowie_gear_ec1_evo_black_competitive_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Since this is all the extras included with the EC1 eVo, I didn't think a whole page was worth it. So here it is, in the box along with the mouse, you also get an extra set of mouse feet and you get a large case badge with the Zowie name and logo in a brushed aluminum and black sticker.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases