TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,976 Reviews & Articles | 38,610 News Posts

SanDisk Ultra Plus 256GB SSD Review - SanDisk Ultra Plus 256GB SSD

SanDisk Ultra Plus 256GB SSD Review

SanDisk brings another consumer friendly SSD to the market. This four-channel controlled drive should hit a very low price point and the programming should keep it very quick.

| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Aug 20, 4746 8:00 pm
TweakTown Rating: 92%      Manufacturer: SanDisk

SanDisk Ultra Plus 256GB SSD

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5177_08_sandisk_ultra_plus_256gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the Ultra Plus SSD.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5177_09_sandisk_ultra_plus_256gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The drive uses a 7mm form factor, but ships with an adapter bracket. We've never had an issue installing a 7mm drive in a notebook, but we've observed a few systems where a problem may occur. The 7mm form factor retains the same screw positions found on 9.5mm drives.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5177_10_sandisk_ultra_plus_256gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5177_11_sandisk_ultra_plus_256gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5177_12_sandisk_ultra_plus_256gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

This is where I think you'll be shocked. We've seen three quarter PCB designs and even half-length designs, but the Ultra Plus is our first one quarter length design. The Marvell Van Gogh Lite was designed mainly for mSATA products and quad channel means four NAND flash packages work fine.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5177_13_sandisk_ultra_plus_256gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Here we see the actual drive - it's tiny. On this side SanDisk used two NAND flash chips, the Marvell controller and a Samsung DRAM chips.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5177_14_sandisk_ultra_plus_256gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Two more SanDisk NAND flash packages are on the opposite side.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5177_15_sandisk_ultra_plus_256gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

We've yet to find a SanDisk NAND Flash Decoder sheet, but we do know this is SanDisk's latest and greatest 19nm part.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5177_16_sandisk_ultra_plus_256gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Getting a good image of the Marvell 9175 proved tricky, but we managed to snap a shot with the light hitting the controller just right to show the contrast of the laser etching.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases