TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,144 Reviews & Articles | 39,492 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Fractal Design Node 605 HTPC Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

Fractal Design Node 605 HTPC Chassis Review
If a SFF gaming cube isn't your style, the Node series has another card to play with the Node 605 for the home theatre crowd.
| HTPC Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Feb 4, 2013 6:33 am
TweakTown Rating: 96%Manufacturer: Fractal Design

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5170_30_needs_edited_images_fractal_design_node_605_htpc_chassis_review.jpg

 

I figured I would tackle the toughest part of the build, messing with the tiny screws, and then the compete assembly. Slight mistake on my part, make sure to do this later if using a full ATX motherboard.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5170_31_needs_edited_images_fractal_design_node_605_htpc_chassis_review.jpg

 

I had also hoped to use the fully modular PSU, but the fan kept it from being installed. This is when I checked and was reminded that 180mm of PSU does not go into a 160mm hole. Off to find old trusty, the HX520.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5170_32_needs_edited_images_fractal_design_node_605_htpc_chassis_review.jpg

 

The HX 520 fits much better in the chassis, and leaves plenty of room to the slim optical drive. If you look above the PSU, the bottom two holes are for the ATX stand-offs. Now you see why adding the drive early can screw things up for an ATX build.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5170_33_needs_edited_images_fractal_design_node_605_htpc_chassis_review.jpg

 

Since I had the Micro-ATX setup already assembled, I figured I would just stick this in and not remove the drive. This will be the last clear image of the board in the chassis so I thought it prudent to show the fit at this point.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5170_34_needs_edited_images_fractal_design_node_605_htpc_chassis_review.jpg

 

As I was assembling the rest of the build, I did try out the fit of my HIS Radeon HD 7950. It fit in length, but the abnormal coolers hit the arms of the HDD racks. What I do like is that they are notched to even allow a system to run SLI or XFire as long as they have stock cooling.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5170_35_needs_edited_images_fractal_design_node_605_htpc_chassis_review.jpg

 

Stepping back and soaking in the completed build, you can now see that while there is some work to be done to hide the wires properly, the end result is a really clean build that will allow the air to flow nicely through the case and over my components.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5170_36_needs_edited_images_fractal_design_node_605_htpc_chassis_review.jpg

 

The only change to the front of the Node 604 after the build is only visible if you drop the door as I have. Then you can see that the DVD drive has replaced the cover and we are nearly to the testing phase.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5170_37_needs_edited_images_fractal_design_node_605_htpc_chassis_review.jpg

 

Around in the back, the dust shield took some force to get in place, but we know it won't rattle. The card was a bit snug. The tabs at the end of the support bracket, going into the grooves in the chassis, since painting it, the holes lost some space and made it a little tougher than normal. As for the PSU, it just took a couple of screws and she was in and ready to run.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5170_38_needs_edited_images_fractal_design_node_605_htpc_chassis_review.jpg

 

As you power up the Fractal Design Node 605, from three feet away, all you see is the blue LED glowing, and there is no sound to speak of from that distance. You really have to get close to the case to hear anything with the fan controller in its highest setting. Once I clicked over to the lowest, I was able to hear the PSU over the chassis.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases