TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,143 Reviews & Articles | 39,488 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

SilverStone SUGO SST-SG09B SFF Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

SilverStone SUGO SST-SG09B SFF Chassis Review
SilverStone spices up the SFF chassis segment with the newly stylized SUGO SG-09.
| Small Form Factor Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Jan 31, 2013 5:23 pm
TweakTown Rating: 99%Manufacturer: SilverStone

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5168_31_needs_edited_images_silverstone_sugo_sst_sg09b_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

All assembled, there is only the slight hint of the fan grill from the PSU showing through the grid on the front. Besides that, with this design, it isn't meant to look different after you are finished.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5168_32_needs_edited_images_silverstone_sugo_sst_sg09b_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

Inside the chassis there is plenty of room for the Micro-ATX build and SLI to still be usable. You can see the PSU is installed and the wire has been plugged in. Most of the room below is the natural spot for wiring to pass through, and that is all part of the design with an intentional wire management plan in the design.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5168_33_needs_edited_images_silverstone_sugo_sst_sg09b_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

The back of the chassis could be a little tighter around the dust shield for the rear I/O panel, but it is just snug enough to keep it in place. I did have to spin the rear fan for wire management and was pleased to see the holes weren't all stripped out, and the cards went in with no issues.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5168_34_needs_edited_images_silverstone_sugo_sst_sg09b_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

The right side of the chassis has all of the PSU wiring dropping straight down and into the hole provided to allow that small bulge to take on only the connectivity points and not have to deal with bulk wiring. I am running off the 3.5" drive that is installed, but I did throw in an SSD to show how they go in as well.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5168_35_needs_edited_images_silverstone_sugo_sst_sg09b_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

Reassembling the side panels, I installed the lower section and got to this angle so you can see how beneficial it may be to go ahead and get a pair of 80mm fans to blow right into the cards. It is sufficient with the 120mm fan and my cards, but these are not as power hungry as some.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5168_36_needs_edited_images_silverstone_sugo_sst_sg09b_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

Getting the top and side panel section back on seemed a little tough at first, but I just removed it and tried again, and it almost fell into place. I did have to jiggle it a bit to ease the wiring in the correct place, but once it was settled in, the panel slid right into place.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5168_37_needs_edited_images_silverstone_sugo_sst_sg09b_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

Even from here you don't see this panel bulging or under any stress from the wiring of the PSU, and since I am about to add the power cord, we will see soon enough if the system is still in good shape.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5168_38_needs_edited_images_silverstone_sugo_sst_sg09b_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

Powering up the SG09 with the fan selector for the 180mm AP fan on its highest setting, not only is there a constant glow of blue from the power LED and an occasional flicker of a blue HDD activity LED, from this distance you can barely hear this chassis. With the switch set to low speed, you have to almost put your ear to the mesh to hear anything at all.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases