TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,678 Reviews & Articles | 36,089 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

Antec GX700 Military Themed Mid-Tower Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

Antec GX700 Military Themed Mid-Tower Chassis Review

Antec brings forth a rugged, military inspired, mid-tower chassis perfect for those military themed case mods everyone is doing these days. Say hello to the GX700 case.

| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Jan 21, 2013 5:21 pm
TweakTown Rating: 92%      Manufacturer: Antec

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5156_28_antec_gx700_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

To gain access to the bays, all you have to do is unlock the wire clips. The heavy steel bay covers fall out, and will allow access to use them. You can also see how the wiring blocks off the top slot. You do have to install the optical drives a bit deep, but it will allow for the clips to lock over a device or reservoir.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5156_29_antec_gx700_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

With the build underway I added the DVD drive after removing the steel blank left in each of the bottom three slots. I then slid it in until the clips were locked on the front, and then using the tool-free clips on the sides, I locked the drive into place.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5156_30_antec_gx700_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

While I was wiring the front I/O to the motherboard I was disappointed to see that the HD Audio cable is still too short in Antec cases. Technically I could have connected it, but needing to use my PCI-e slots, angling it across the board wasn't going to work either.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5156_31_antec_gx700_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

With the build now complete, you can see I was able to get quite a bit inside the GX700. You can see there were no issues with the tower cooler (look for it in an upcoming review), and I was even able to shoe horn the HIS Radeon HD 7950 in there.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5156_22_antec_gx700_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

A look above the cooler and motherboard shows you that there is definitely room for an AIO radiator in there, and even some of the thinner custom ones.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5156_33_antec_gx700_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

There was nothing out of the realm of normal to mention in the back either. The rear I/O shield is snug, the card fit the slots perfectly, and the PSU went in without any issues.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5156_34_antec_gx700_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

While I did need more than the five supplied ties, I was able to manage the wiring pretty well. Trying to keep most of it left of the motherboard tray is where you need to route most of it, but I had no issues with the panel going back on over this layout of wiring.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5156_35_antec_gx700_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

With both the panels back on, and only the need for power and some testing to go, we get this glamour shot of the GX700 before I add the power.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5156_36_antec_gx700_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Once powered up, the only thing to let you know is the pair of LEDs on the front. Just to the right of the power button are the green power and the red HDD activity LEDs that I caught while illuminated.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below