TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,929 Reviews & Articles | 38,198 News Posts

FSP Aurum 92+ PT-650M 650W 80 PLUS Platinum Power Supply Review - Inside the Box

FSP brings its first Platinum rated power supply to the consumer market and does so on the cheap. If you're on a tight budget but need a quality entry level power supply, you'll want to read this.

| 80 PLUS Platinum PSUs in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Jan 10, 2013 6:51 pm
TweakTown Rating: 91%      Manufacturer: FSP

Inside the Box

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5142_10_needs_images_fsp_aurum_92_pt_650m_650w_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Opening things up, we find that the unit is well packed.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5142_11_needs_images_fsp_aurum_92_pt_650m_650w_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

The PT-650M features a rough texture finish in black that gives it a ruggedized feel.

 

[img]12[/img]

 

Both sides feature the FSP logo stamped in the side with a few additional vents toward the bottom.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5142_13_needs_images_fsp_aurum_92_pt_650m_650w_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

The back side features their "Arrow Dynamic" venting as well as on/off rocker switch and AC input.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5142_14_needs_images_fsp_aurum_92_pt_650m_650w_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Taking a look at the front we find the modular connections available on the PT-650M.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5142_15_needs_images_fsp_aurum_92_pt_650m_650w_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Flipping the unit over reveals the 120mm fan cooling the power supply.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5142_16_needs_images_fsp_aurum_92_pt_650m_650w_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

All modular cables that are included are fully sleeved. Four of them are sleeved to be flat while the fifth is sleeved with nylon mesh. I'm not entirely sure of the reasoning, but since it is the short SATA cable that is designed to power hard drives stacked on top of each other, I assume that it is for increased flexibility over the flat cables.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5142_17_needs_images_fsp_aurum_92_pt_650m_650w_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Also included is the user manual, AC input cord, 3 Velcro cable ties, and thumb screws.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases