TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,144 Reviews & Articles | 39,490 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Mionix Naos 8200 Gaming Mouse Review - Inside the Naos 8200

Mionix sent along the Naos 8200 gaming mouse and the Ensis 320 aluminium mouse pad to check out.

| Mice in Peripherals | Posted: Jan 11, 2013 10:52 am
TweakTown Rating: 97%Manufacturer: Mionix

Inside the Naos 8200

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5140_13_mionix_naos_8200_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

After removing all of the feet, and needing to find a tiny screw driver for just one of the screws, I was able to pull the mouse apart relatively easily so I could show you what is in the Naos 8200.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5140_14_mionix_naos_8200_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

There is a double stack of PCBs inside the Naos 8200. The top board controls the actions from the DPI buttons and the pair of side buttons. The bottom layer has the processor, memory, and the top tier switches under the right and left click buttons.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5140_15_mionix_naos_8200_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

The right and left click buttons are backed with Omron switches to give the two buttons used most the longest longevity and a better feel than other offerings.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5140_16_mionix_naos_8200_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

As for the side buttons, DPI buttons, and the scroll wheel click micro-switch, they are various models of TTC switches. As I have said before, TTC switches are nice, they just don't have the feel or lifespan of the Omron switches, and it does save the manufacturer a couple of dollars not using Omron's throughout.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5140_17_mionix_naos_8200_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Peeling off the top layer PCB, I found the sensor chip. In the Naos 8200 Mionix uses the Avago ADNS A9800 laser sensor to track your every movement and offering the highest possible DPI of any chip on the market at the time of writing.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5140_18_mionix_naos_8200_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Then of course we have the 32-bit ARM micro-processor to carry on with the task of communication between all of the switches and sensors, along with controlling the USB 2.0 pathway communications to the PC.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5140_19_mionix_naos_8200_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

As I always do when I reassemble the mice, I check them for functionality. While there are 16.8 million color choices, I really like the default green that illuminates the Mionix log on the heel of the Naos 8200.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5140_20_mionix_naos_8200_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Spinning the Naos 8200 around, you can now see the DPI selection lights on the side denoting I am using the highest default setting for the plug and play configuration, which is set at 6000 DPI. You can also see the sides of the scroll wheel illuminated, but you also get the thin arrows on the DPI buttons to illuminate as well.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases