TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,071 Reviews & Articles | 38,994 News Posts

AZiO Levetron CM-2000 Gaming Mouse Review - Inside the Levetron GM-2000

Just want a mouse that is simple and easy to use? Take a look at the new mouse from AZiO, the Levetron GM-2000.

| Mice in Peripherals | Posted: Jan 10, 2013 9:58 am
TweakTown Rating: 91%Manufacturer: AZIO

Inside the Levetron GM-2000

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5139_15_azio_levetron_cm_2000_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

There is only one screw to remove, and by gently separating the back half, it allows you to slide back the top to unlatch a pair of clips. Inside the lens in the bottom is free to float around, as for the PCB in the middle; I disconnected that from the bottom half so it was easier to show.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5139_16_azio_levetron_cm_2000_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

The clear plastic scroll wheel is just connected to the mouse with a central pin in the other side that registers the scroll of the wheel. You can also see it offers the click feature of the wheel with the switch on this side.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5139_17_azio_levetron_cm_2000_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Removing the wheel for a much better view of the switch types, you can clearly see that HUANO switches are used under the right and left click buttons, and the ZHIJ switch is used under the scroll wheel.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5139_18_azio_levetron_cm_2000_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

This is a view of the PAN chip made by PIX. This is a 16-bit controller that not only controls the communications of all the components, but is what also controls the tracking as this optical sensor offers its 2000 DPI maximum.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5139_19_azio_levetron_cm_2000_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

I also wanted to show that the LEDs in the GM-2000 are old school and large compared to the surface mount LEDs we typically see.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5139_20_azio_levetron_cm_2000_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

The top PCB that controls the DPI selector button with the use of the ZHIJ switch to the right, it also houses the micro-switches for the side buttons functionality, but I cannot find a name on them.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5139_21_azio_levetron_cm_2000_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Putting the Levetron GM-2000 back together, I plugged it in to be sure I have everything correct. Instantly upon system recognition, you are given the red glow of the LED illumination. As you can see, the lighting shows right through the pattern on the sides.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5139_22_azio_levetron_cm_2000_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

The other side you can see glows just as well, and since I have the DPI set to 2000 currently the red LED in front of the DPI button also glows brightly. The AZiO logo on the heel is also illuminated, but oddly enough, the clear scroll wheel does not.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases