TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,669 Reviews & Articles | 36,037 News Posts

CM Storm Trigger (Cherry MX Green) Mechanical Gaming Keyboard Review - CM Storm Trigger Continued

We're sure you all know about the CM Storm Trigger by now, but this one comes with Cherry MX green switches. Let's see what changes.

| Keyboards in Peripherals | Posted: Jan 17, 2013 7:00 pm
TweakTown Rating: 97%      Manufacturer: CM Storm

CM Storm Trigger Continued

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5137_21_cm_storm_trigger_cherry_mx_green_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

In the I/O panel you see there is a DC 5V input connection to maybe power the USB ports, but there isn't a power cable included. Then we move on to the mini-USB port for the keyboard connectivity, leaving the standard sized USB 2.0 ports as a pass through hub.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5137_22_cm_storm_trigger_cherry_mx_green_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Flipping the keyboard over you can see an imprint of CM Storm taking up much of the bottom panel. On the left side there is a manufacturer sticker with the model and serial number on it, and a tiny OK sticker denoting it passed quality control testing.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5137_23_cm_storm_trigger_cherry_mx_green_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

At the back of the keyboard there are three thick rubber pads used as feet, and will keep the keyboard from sliding around. If you prefer to raise the back half of the board, simply lift the fold in feet to add another half inch of height.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5137_24_cm_storm_trigger_cherry_mx_green_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

On the front edge of the board you will find three more of those thick rubber feet for a total of six under the Trigger, but here you will also find places near each foot to clip in the wrist rest.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5137_25_cm_storm_trigger_cherry_mx_green_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

The wrist rest easily clips into the base of the keyboard, and as you can see it contours to the shape of the front of the keyboard as well. The hexagonal design isn't just to look good; it adds structural support to the rest as well.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5137_26_cm_storm_trigger_cherry_mx_green_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

With the wrist rest on the Trigger, you get an additional eight feet made of the same material, just a bit smaller in size. With 14 anti-skid feet now on the Trigger I can assure you it isn't going to move around during use.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5137_27_cm_storm_trigger_cherry_mx_green_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

The wrist rest is really deep, but keeps a gentle angle rising as it meets the front of the Trigger. I did spend some time with it in use on my desk, and with the blunt leading edge of the Trigger, this really helps if you have the room to use it.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below