TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,668 Reviews & Articles | 36,027 News Posts

Seasonic Platinum 1000W 80 PLUS Platinum Power Supply Review - Inside the Box

We take a look at Seasonic's highest wattage Platinum rated power supply and get some surprising results.

| 80 PLUS Platinum PSUs in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Dec 20, 2012 9:03 am
TweakTown Rating: 93%      Manufacturer: Seasonic

Inside the Box

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5097_10_seasonic_platinum_1000w_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Opening the box, we find that the power supply is surrounded in its entirety with a half inch of foam padding.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5097_11_seasonic_platinum_1000w_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

The top is a blank slate for the Seasonic Platinum 1000W power supply.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5097_12_seasonic_platinum_1000w_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

The reason the top is because the I/O specification label resides on one side of the power supply.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5097_13_seasonic_platinum_1000w_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

The other side features the Seasonic Platinum logo.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5097_14_seasonic_platinum_1000w_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

As you would expect, all the modular connectors are on the front of the unit. Three is also a switch present to tell the fan to always run or only turn on after the unit reaches 50% load.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5097_07_seasonic_platinum_1000w_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Looking at the back, we find the standard honeycomb mesh grill along with the AC input and on/off rocker switch.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5097_15_seasonic_platinum_1000w_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Seasonic uses a honeycomb mush grill to cover the 120mm Sanyo Denki fan cooling the power supply.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5097_16_seasonic_platinum_1000w_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

All cables are fully sleeved with nylon mesh.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5097_17_seasonic_platinum_1000w_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Also included are the user manual, AC input cord, 10 cable ties, three Velcro cable ties, mini screwdriver, case badge and mounting screws.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below