TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,137 Reviews & Articles | 39,428 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

DIGISTOR Archive Your Life REWIND Bundle Review - DIGISTOR Bundle

DIGISTOR is a software maker specializing in data archiving. They also produce all-inclusive packages designed to maximize ease of use.

| Software in Storage | Posted: Dec 16, 2012 12:27 pm
TweakTown Rating: 93%Manufacturer: DIGISTOR

DIGISTOR Bundle

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5096_05_digistor_archive_your_life_rewind_bundle_review.jpg

 

The DIGISTOR shipping box is also the product package so this one isn't ready for the shelves at brick and mortar stores.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5096_06_digistor_archive_your_life_rewind_bundle_review.jpg

 

Everything is packed up well with the main component, the Blu-Ray burner in the middle of the box way from the other components.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5096_07_digistor_archive_your_life_rewind_bundle_review.jpg

 

Our package had a few extra Blu-Ray disks - when ordering it's a good idea to purchase a few extras. We also have the archive software, a paper quick start guide and a technical support paper with phone numbers and email addresses to get support.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5096_08_digistor_archive_your_life_rewind_bundle_review.jpg

 

The main component to the package is the software, found on a disk. Since you need a disk reader to access the software we'll start out with the hardware.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5096_09_digistor_archive_your_life_rewind_bundle_review.jpg

 

The bundled Blu-Ray burner is smaller than I expected it to be.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5096_10_digistor_archive_your_life_rewind_bundle_review.jpg

 

The unit is USB powered as well as battery powered.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5096_11_digistor_archive_your_life_rewind_bundle_review.jpg

 

The On/Off switch activates the battery, but without the switch in the ON position your computer will not see the drive.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5096_12_digistor_archive_your_life_rewind_bundle_review.jpg

 

Rubber feet on the bottom keep the drive from vibrating the desk and they also acts as a buffer for vibration from the desk going back to the disk while burning.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5096_13_digistor_archive_your_life_rewind_bundle_review.jpg

 

The battery aspect caught me by surprise when I read the label for the first time. DIGISTOR claims a 3 to 4 hour continual use power.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5096_14_digistor_archive_your_life_rewind_bundle_review.jpg

 

The package shipped with two sets of cables, one with dual USB ports to plug into the host computer. The dual USB plug cable also feeds power to the external drive. The other cable is just a standard USB to USB mini cable.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5096_15_digistor_archive_your_life_rewind_bundle_review.jpg

 

This is the first time I've really paid any attention to a Blu-Ray writer. I never occurred to me they would need two different optical pick systems. Since DVDs and CDs use red and Blu-Rays use blue (for the shorter wavelength), it makes sense.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases