TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,013 Reviews & Articles | 38,785 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Windows 9 logo teased, with Microsoft's next OS 'coming soon'

Corsair Carbide Series 200R Compact Mid-Tower Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

Corsair has delivered another of the Carbide series. Have a look at the more compact, but still feature-rich 200R case.

| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Dec 14, 2012 8:00 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: Corsair

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5094_28_corsair_carbide_series_200r_compact_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

To remove the front bezel to gain access to removing the bay covers or adding a second intake fan, there are a few clips on the inside that you lift to allow the panel to come off leaving the wiring intact. The bezel does need to be on before you slide in an optical drive though; the panel is cut that tight.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5094_29_corsair_carbide_series_200r_compact_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Clipping the bezel back on was easy enough, and sliding the DVD drive in until I hear the click of the locking tab, I knew we were ready to go and finish up the wiring.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5094_30_corsair_carbide_series_200r_compact_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Inside there is plenty of room for the ATX motherboard and video card. I tested both the 3.5" and 2.5" drive bays and used the clips on them a couple of times. While devices are ever so slightly loose, these clips all work well enough not to need screws to back them up, but you do have that option as well on all the bays.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5094_31_corsair_carbide_series_200r_compact_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Out back, the dust shield, video card, and the PSU all went into place easily with no issues to bring up on any of them.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5094_32_corsair_carbide_series_200r_compact_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

With seven tie points, three of which are on the right side, there is only one trail to tend the wires into. This is the deepest channel behind the motherboard tray and even with most of the wiring in one spot there is still plenty of room to get the panel back on easily.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5094_33_corsair_carbide_series_200r_compact_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

When it is all back together, since I didn't add any extra fans to this build, the 200R looks much the same as it did out of the box. If you don't use fans in the side, since the top allows a lot of light into the chassis, you can easily see them through the side mesh.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5094_34_corsair_carbide_series_200r_compact_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

When I powered the 200R for the testing phase, since you can't hear the whir of the fans running in an image, I will cover the backlit power button showing that the PC is on, and I was able to catch the white LED to the left as the SSD was loading up Windows.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases