TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,926 Reviews & Articles | 38,177 News Posts

XSPC Raystorm 750 RX360 Liquid Cooling Kit Review - Build and Finished Product

XSPC releases Raystorm kits featuring its new CPU water block. We got the largest kit they have to see how it holds up against the competition.

| CPU Liquid Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Dec 18, 2012 11:12 am
TweakTown Rating: 83%      Manufacturer: XSPC

Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5093_43_xspc_raystorm_750_rx360_liquid_cooling_kit_review.jpg

 

Starting to assemble the components I went ahead and added the barbs to the radiator as well as attaching the fans and grills. I also went ahead and made the fan wires tidy on the other side so that I didn't have a mess when I needed to connect everything.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5093_44_xspc_raystorm_750_rx360_liquid_cooling_kit_review.jpg

 

To prepare the CPU block before I mounted it, I went ahead and inserted the LEDs into the sides of the bracket and tucked the wiring underneath of it so that I could get a cleaner looking install than having the wires lying loose wherever they may fall.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5093_45_xspc_raystorm_750_rx360_liquid_cooling_kit_review.jpg

 

To install the CPU block on this Z68 motherboard, I grabbed the appropriate back plate and installed it to the board. There are isolation washers on the other side, and you can only install this one way due to the cut out in the middle of the plate.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5093_46_xspc_raystorm_750_rx360_liquid_cooling_kit_review.jpg

 

Using the washers, springs, and threaded bolts I tightened them until they stopped. The lower section under the top nut will allow you to tighten them compressing the springs even more for excellent pressure against the CPU.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5093_47_xspc_raystorm_750_rx360_liquid_cooling_kit_review.jpg

 

Right after I dumped in about a half a gallons worth of distilled water into the reservoir and cycled the pump a few times, the loop bled in about 20 minutes time leaving only the tiniest of bubbles stuck to the sides of the tubing.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5093_48_xspc_raystorm_750_rx360_liquid_cooling_kit_review.jpg

 

With the LED installed you can more easily check the fluid levels as it makes the edge of the water glow. You can also move the LED to the other side if you don't want the glow of light to come out of the slit on the left. If you install it on the right the light is not nearly as bright, but still illuminates the fluid.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5093_49_xspc_raystorm_750_rx360_liquid_cooling_kit_review.jpg

 

The heart of the unit and the components that lends its name to the kit, the Raystorm CPU block also comes to life as it floods the motherboard, and most of the room with the blue glow from inside the bracket. I do like the metal plate on the bracket not only for style, but that it also blocks the light from blasting you directly in the eyes.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases