TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,008 Reviews & Articles | 38,762 News Posts

Thermalright Silver Arrow SB-E Extreme CPU Cooler Review - Accessories and Documentation

Thermalright loosens the reins on the Silver Arrow SB-E and delivers the Extreme version.

| CPU Air Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Dec 12, 2012 11:24 am
TweakTown Rating: 97%Manufacturer: Thermalright

Accessories and Documentation

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5091_21_thermalright_silver_arrow_sb_e_extreme_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The hardware hasn't changed and in my opinion this is a very good and secure system. At the top is the bar that goes across the base of the cooler. It then mounts to the ring on the left after it is mounted to the risers and back plate on the right.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5091_22_thermalright_silver_arrow_sb_e_extreme_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Splitting up the hardware, first I set this up. You get a mounting wrench to get into tight spots, and a syringe of CF III on the left. In the middle is the six wire fan mounting clips that Thermalright provides so you have the option to run that third 140mm fan on the back. On the right there is a fan splitter to power both fans, but it takes both the fan adapter and the Molex plug to be connected to work.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5091_23_thermalright_silver_arrow_sb_e_extreme_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Sealed in another bag are eight white nylon washers, four for Intel and the others for AMD, mixed in with the LGA775 spacer. Behind it all are two layers of precut rubber triangles to be used for fan isolation.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5091_24_thermalright_silver_arrow_sb_e_extreme_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Sealed in another bag you will find the longer M3 bolts to run through the motherboard, the thumbscrew risers to attach that top ring to, and the shorter M3 screws to secure it. The shorter, less blue risers are used for LGA2011 mounting, but the top half is all the same.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5091_25_thermalright_silver_arrow_sb_e_extreme_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

You saw these when we opened the box, but I thought they needed to be shown again. The installation manual on the left will get you through anything you need, and for those who like to adorn things with tech stickers, Thermalright provides one for you to display proudly.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5091_26_thermalright_silver_arrow_sb_e_extreme_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Inside the manual you get a parts list of everything I described along with their quantity so that you know up front before the installation if you are missing something.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5091_27_thermalright_silver_arrow_sb_e_extreme_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The steps to installing the SB-E Extreme are pretty simple, and if the written description doesn't quite answer what you are supposed to do, the drawings are very detailed and those alone with no words can get this cooler on your board.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases