TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,683 Reviews & Articles | 36,177 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

SilverStone Heligon SST-HE02 Passive CPU Cooler Review - Installation and Finished Product

SilverStone tries its hand at a very large passive cooler with a 95W TDP and with fans you can go up to 150W. Let's see what the SST-HE02 can do.

| CPU Air Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Dec 7, 2012 7:27 am
TweakTown Rating: 63%      Manufacturer: SilverStone

Installation and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5087_25_silverstone_heligon_sst_he02_passive_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Sliding the long threaded bolts through the back plate and setting it against the motherboard allows you to set on the plastic spacers on the other side to help hold these bolts into place while finishing up the rest of the hardware mounting.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5087_26_silverstone_heligon_sst_he02_passive_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

With the black plastic spacers gripping the bolts, you just set on the appropriate top rails and use the nuts to secure the top plates to the back plate making the hardware locked in place so that the cooler is ready to mount.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5087_27_silverstone_heligon_sst_he02_passive_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

With the cooler now mounted to the motherboard you realize two things. First you realize how big this HE02 is, and secondly, you can now understand why the sides are notched allowing you access to the cross-bar screws.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5087_28_silverstone_heligon_sst_he02_passive_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Looking at the HE02 from the left shows that it doesn't quite extend over the VRM heat sinks on the motherboard, nor does it block access to the 8-pin EPS connector. It also doesn't drop down and encroach on my video card slot either.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5087_29_silverstone_heligon_sst_he02_passive_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

When you view the HE02 from the top the brushed finish of the fins shows through along with the SilverStone name at the top. You can also tell much better now how those wire fan clips will work when adding your own fans.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5087_30_silverstone_heligon_sst_he02_passive_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Without any fans, the HE02 is well out of the way, and even has room for a couple extra fins down here in my opinion.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5087_31_silverstone_heligon_sst_he02_passive_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Even without a fan on the cooler it does end up blocking off the use of the fourth RAM slot only if I had taller heat spreaders. With the naked sticks I use, I could get the stick in and out with little issue.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5087_32_silverstone_heligon_sst_he02_passive_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Just because I am going to be testing like this anyways, I figured I would also show you what the HE02 looks like with a pair of fans installed.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below