TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,688 Reviews & Articles | 36,222 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

BitFenix Ghost Mid-Tower Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

BitFenix brings forward the Ghost, a chassis that glows from the bottom as it sits in silence, and at a good price as well.

| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Dec 4, 2012 5:39 pm
TweakTown Rating: 90%      Manufacturer: BitFenix

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5086_37_bitfenix_ghost_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Since the bezel was removed for me, I just set it to the left to show that all of the wiring is attached, and this has to be off to get to the bay covers. You can also see the front intake fan and the removable dust filter in front of it.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5086_38_bitfenix_ghost_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Just by removing the door, squeezing the hinge clips, and inserting them on the other side you can easily reverse the door swing as I did for this image and the rest of the build. Since the DVD drive is hidden by the door, it really doesn't matter, but it lines up perfectly and the clips hold it really securely.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5086_39_bitfenix_ghost_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

I had no issues with the build of fitment of any of the components. The motherboard went in easy, all of the wiring makes it to its destination, and there is plenty of room for tons of gear in here.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5086_40_bitfenix_ghost_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Around back the rear I/O shield snapped right in, the thumbscrews for the HIS Radeon HD 7950 went in easily, and while a bit tight getting it in there, the PSU screws line right up as well.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5086_41_bitfenix_ghost_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

In the back I was able to run everything I wanted to behind the tray. Even with the thicker group of wiring off to the left all bundled up I had no issues placing the panel over this.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5086_42_bitfenix_ghost_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Then I went ahead and closed up to make sure everything lines up and that my ghetto modding is still holding tight in the front. I am pleased to say that the Ghost does look nice sitting here, even if subdued a little bit.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5086_43_bitfenix_ghost_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Same for the other side of the Ghost. As you can see the panel isn't bowing and all of the body lines are square with each other.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5086_44_bitfenix_ghost_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

When you fire up the Ghost for the first time, looking back at the I/O panel, you have a solid white LED on the left indicating system power. Just to the right there is the flicker of another white LED as the SSD is being used during the boot process.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5086_45_bitfenix_ghost_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

This is why the last image had a blue cast to it. With the chassis running, you can't really hear much, but with the Alchemy kits installed under it, you can definitely see it.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below