TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,203 Reviews & Articles | 40,054 News Posts

Thecus N5550 5-Bay Home NAS Review - Thecus N5550 NAS

Thecus rehashed a successful design for the successor to the N5500 and increased performance with a new Intel Atom processor paired with twice the amount of RAM. The new N5550 also adds advanced features, HDMI output and USB 3.0 topping that list.

| SOHO NAS/DAS in Storage | Posted: Dec 3, 2012 2:01 pm
TweakTown Rating: 94%Manufacturer: Thecus

Thecus N5550 NAS

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5083_11_thecus_n5550_5_bay_home_nas_review.jpg

 

If the N5550 looks familiar, that's because Thecus used the same case for a few other products as well. When we reviewed the N5500 in 2009 we found it to be an amazing NAS with best in class performance. The N5550 looks nearly identical on the outside, but has new 2012 features.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5083_12_thecus_n5550_5_bay_home_nas_review.jpg

 

The front door hides the drive bays and makes the N5550 appealing for home users. Beyond the door we found the five drive bays, power and reset buttons. The N5550 also has a row of status LEDs along the top just about the single USB 3.0 port on the front.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5083_13_thecus_n5550_5_bay_home_nas_review.jpg

 

At the bottom, Thecus has a status display panel with manual settings adjustments for some of the most used settings.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5083_14_thecus_n5550_5_bay_home_nas_review.jpg

 

The N5550 can only use SATA drives; the backplane is not keyed for SAS connectors.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5083_15_thecus_n5550_5_bay_home_nas_review.jpg

 

The side with a motherboard under the cover has an open vent to cool the components.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5083_16_thecus_n5550_5_bay_home_nas_review.jpg

 

The opposite side appears open, but it's covered with a film on the inside.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5083_17_thecus_n5550_5_bay_home_nas_review.jpg

 

The N5550 uses a large fan to cool the HDDs and the power supply has a fan as well. The system is quiet and you can use it on your desk if you need to have it close by your work space.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5083_18_thecus_n5550_5_bay_home_nas_review.jpg

 

The internal power supply means you don't have to worry about an external power brick.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5083_19_thecus_n5550_5_bay_home_nas_review.jpg

 

The N5550 has a microphone and line level input as well as line level output on the back. An eSATA connector is next two four USB 2.0 ports.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5083_20_thecus_n5550_5_bay_home_nas_review.jpg

 

We've seen VGA connectors on NAS servers for years, but HDMI capability is new for 2012.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5083_21_thecus_n5550_5_bay_home_nas_review.jpg

 

Dual gigabit Ethernet ports bridge the gap between a typical home NAS to a more powerful small business unit.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5083_22_thecus_n5550_5_bay_home_nas_review.jpg

 

The cover comes off very easy with preinstalled thumb screws so you can easily upgrade the RAM inside the NAS.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5083_23_thecus_n5550_5_bay_home_nas_review.jpg

 

Inside we found a single DOM and this nice little add on that's undocumented. It's an mSATA slot. This has me wondering if a Windows Home Server unit wasn't on the drawing board at some time.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5083_24_thecus_n5550_5_bay_home_nas_review.jpg

 

The N5550 ships with 2GB of DDR3 RAM. This is twice what many of Thecus' competitors' uses in similarly priced units.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases