TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,930 Reviews & Articles | 38,200 News Posts

Intel 335 Series 240GB SSD Review - Intel 335 Series 240GB SSD

Intel revamps its mainstream 300 class SSD with new 20nm synchronous flash in the 335 Series solid state drive.

| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Nov 30, 2012 9:47 pm
TweakTown Rating: 93%      Manufacturer: Intel

Intel 335 Series 240GB SSD

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5082_09_intel_335_series_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the Intel 335 Series. The familiar Intel curve is still on the front of the drive, but the label was moved to the back of the SSD.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5082_10_intel_335_series_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The serial number, product number and capacity size are on the back label.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5082_11_intel_335_series_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

I really didn't expect Intel to ever release another 9.5mm z-height drive after marketing ultrabooks so heavily, but here we are with another 9.5mm drive that won't fit in your shiny new ultrabook computer.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5082_12_intel_335_series_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

All of the mounting points are where they should be and the SATA connectors are as well. The adapter bracket centers drive so the power and data connectors aren't in line with your 3.5" HDDs.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5082_13_intel_335_series_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

If you ever wanted to know what the inside looks like here is a quick shot. Intel uses a thermal pad on the LSI SandForce SF-2281 controller. A spacer inside fills a gap so Intel can use the same bottom half for 9.5mm and 7mm z-height SSDs.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5082_14_intel_335_series_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The inside of the 335 looks about the same as the 330 Series other than the 20nm NAND flash.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5082_15_intel_335_series_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

There are sixteen chips, eight on each side and all the same density.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5082_16_intel_335_series_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Intel's marketing page talks about reduced power consumption, but they chose not to roll SandForce's new lower power controller into the 335 Series. To be fair, no one that we know of has used B02 2281 into a retail product, but SandForce announced the new silicon months ago. We'll have a B02 prototype in hand later this week, but we're still working out the details on publishing performance numbers.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5082_17_intel_335_series_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

20nm flash makes its first appearance in a high profile retail SSD. The 335 Series uses NAND receiving a clock signal, often referred to as synchronous flash. A few months ago, we started measuring power usage and the lowest power SSDs have usually shipped with Toshiba Toggle Mode flash. 20nm is Intel's best shot at reducing power consumption with the aging LSI SandForce 2281 SSD controller.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases