TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,201 Reviews & Articles | 40,025 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Samsung wants the US government to block GeForce GPU shipments

Samsung 840 250GB SSD Review - Samsung 840 250GB SSD

Samsung's 840 returns for the second day in a row. This time Chris tests TLC flash paired with a tri-core MDX controller with the 250GB model. Will he love the low power or will the 240MB/s sequential write limit send him for a cold shower?

| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Nov 29, 2012 9:26 pm
TweakTown Rating: 89%Manufacturer: Samsung

Samsung 840 250GB SSD

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5078_07_samsung_840_250gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the actual SSD. Samsung uses an all metal case with the 840 and not the plastic case used on the 830. Visually the two cases are nearly identical, but Samsung did move the orange square from the lower left to the lower middle.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5078_08_samsung_840_250gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The capacity size, model and serial numbers are located on the bottom of the drive. The bottom mounting points are located where they should be.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5078_09_samsung_840_250gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The Samsung 840 and 840 Pro are both 7mm z-height drives so you can use them in ultrabooks as well as notebooks and desktops (with an adapter bracket, supplied with the full bundle kit).

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5078_10_samsung_840_250gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The SATA power and data cable connectors are offset and where they should be.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5078_11_samsung_840_250gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Inside we found the Samsung MDX controller, a single DRAM cache buffer chip and eight Samsung 21nm TLC flash chips.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5078_12_samsung_840_250gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The DRAM cache is a new low voltage chip and it's located very close to the controller to reduce latency.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5078_13_samsung_840_250gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Samsung is currently the only SSD manufacturer shipping a product with TLC NAND flash on a consumer product.?

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases