TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,143 Reviews & Articles | 39,490 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Samsung 840 500GB SSD Review - Samsung SSD Magician

A number of next-generation SSDs are coming to TweakTown this week. OCZ, Intel and Samsung and others will follow after CES. Today Chris tests Samsung's low-cost 840 with TLC flash in the 500GB capacity size. Does TLC show the love or is this low-cost offering another low-budget blunder?

| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Nov 28, 2012 9:02 am
TweakTown Rating: 89%Manufacturer: Samsung

Samsung SSD Magician

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5072_68_samsung_840_512gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Samsung has a very nice software package called SSD Magician. Recently they released a redesigned version, now up to 3.2. Let's take a brief look at each page and see the features.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5072_69_samsung_840_512gb_ssd_review.png

 

System Information.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5072_70_samsung_840_512gb_ssd_review.png

 

A built in benchmark.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5072_71_samsung_840_512gb_ssd_review.png

 

You can even test other drives with the built in benchmark.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5072_72_samsung_840_512gb_ssd_review.png

 

I like benchmarks so we had to show this. The test takes a few minutes, but wait for it.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5072_73_samsung_840_512gb_ssd_review.png

 

Benchmark results show up in a nice graph.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5072_74_samsung_840_512gb_ssd_review.png

 

The optimizer helps you quickly optimize your system. We just cloned a mechanical drive to see what it would pick up in Windows 7. The software does a good job detecting some of the more obvious tricks to increase performance.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5072_75_samsung_840_512gb_ssd_review.png

 

The firmware update tool is built into the Magician software.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5072_76_samsung_840_512gb_ssd_review.png

 

Secure erase, but don't SE your boot drive.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5072_77_samsung_840_512gb_ssd_review.png

 

This is where things get pretty cool. You can do the same thing when building your partition, but Magician gives you a nice graphical interface for setting more spare area. Additional spare area increases performance and the life of the flash.

TweakTown image content/5/0/5072_78_samsung_840_512gb_ssd_review.png

 

Disk Cloning, this has come up a couple of time in the review as Data Migration. When you have Norton Ghost installed on your computer the Disk Cloning tab opens the software for you.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5072_79_samsung_840_512gb_ssd_review.png

 

When the software opens you get the product activation menu and this is a problem if you are past 30 days of installing the software. We tore through the Samsung package and didn't find a code for Norton Ghost anywhere. This really isn't much of an issue unless you read the retail box that says the Samsung 840 comes with Data Migration Software. Maybe they should have put a star next to it and explained the 30 trail version a little better.

 

EDIT: After this article was posted we heard from Samsung and they informed us we did get it wrong in the article. Samsung has Data Migration Software, but it's a bit difficult to find unless you are looking for it. You can find the software on this page in the Downloads and Manuals section.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5072_80_samsung_840_512gb_ssd_review.png

 

At least Samsung provided a link to Symantec tech support in the site link section.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases