TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,253 Reviews & Articles | 40,836 News Posts

Intel Next Unit of Computing (NUC - DC3217BY) Review - Installing the RAM, Wi-Fi card and mSATA SSD

We take Intel's super-small, super-slim Next Unit of Computing (NUC) DC3217BY for a ride and see exactly what it has to offer.

| SFF PCs in Computer Systems | Posted: Nov 23, 2012 8:26 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: Intel

Installing the RAM, Wi-Fi card and mSATA SSD

 

Before installing the RAM, SSD and Wi-Fi card, I took a look at the device in more detail, snapping a few photos as I went. I used this as a bit of a build guide, as we know that everyone loves photos!

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5066_23_intel_next_unit_of_computing_nuc_review.jpg

 

The NUC, open and about to go into PC building surgery.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5066_13_intel_next_unit_of_computing_nuc_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5066_14_intel_next_unit_of_computing_nuc_review.jpg

 

In order to install the Wi-Fi card, you'll need to remove a screw first. Then you slot in the Wi-Fi card, and the screw gets put into the hole on the top left of the Wi-Fi card, securing it into place, as shown above.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5066_15_intel_next_unit_of_computing_nuc_review.jpg

 

Once you've done this, you'll need to connect the two antennas to the Wi-Fi card, as shown above.

Next up, you'll have to repeat the process with the larger screw - which will be removed, getting ready for the mSATA SSD installation.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5066_16_intel_next_unit_of_computing_nuc_review.jpg

 

Once installed, it will look like the Intel SSD 520 Series does in our unit, above.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5066_19_intel_next_unit_of_computing_nuc_review.jpg

 

Once it's all installed, the Wi-Fi card and mSATA SSD drive sit awfully close together - but they seem snug. If there are any overheating issues, we should find out soon enough. After I completed the build of the NUC, I've run over some initial impressions in the video below.

 

 

I was quite impressed in how quickly the NUC can be built, obviously there's only the RAM, mSATA SSD and Wi-Fi card, but it was still just so easy. A complete novice could do it, without looking at the provided instructions. I have to give Intel credit here - they've taken the hard part out of building a system.

 

On the bottom of the NUC, Intel has given the PC some ventilation which should help with any heat exhaustion issues.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5066_21_intel_next_unit_of_computing_nuc_review.jpg

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Computer Systems content at our Computer Systems reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases