TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,098 Reviews & Articles | 39,133 News Posts

SanDisk Extreme 480GB SSD Review - Packaging and SanDisk Extreme 480GB SSD

SanDisk released firmware R211 and customers celebrated. The 480GB Extreme uses the same philosophy that made the 240GB model so popular. You get a very good SSD with real premium flash at an unbeatable price.

| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Nov 19, 2012 2:33 pm
TweakTown Rating: 91%Manufacturer: SanDisk

Packaging

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5052_03_needs_summary_sandisk_extreme_480gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Without a desktop adapter bracket or a dense accessory kit the retail box is fairly small. You get a lot of general information on the package.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5052_04_needs_summary_sandisk_extreme_480gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5052_05_needs_summary_sandisk_extreme_480gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

In the package we found a paper manual that accompanies the actual drive.

 

 

SanDisk Extreme 480GB SSD

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5052_06_needs_summary_sandisk_extreme_480gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the actual drive. Black on black with a splash of red is visually appealing.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5052_07_needs_summary_sandisk_extreme_480gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Your model number and serial number are on the back.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5052_08_needs_summary_sandisk_extreme_480gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

All of the mounting points are located where they should be. Here we see the side mounts and on the previous image we saw the bottom mounts.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5052_09_needs_summary_sandisk_extreme_480gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The SATA power and data labels are also where they should be.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5052_10_needs_summary_sandisk_extreme_480gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

SanDisk chose the LSI SandForce SF-2281 controller and paired it with sixteen 24nm SanDisk Toggle NAND flash chips.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5052_11_needs_summary_sandisk_extreme_480gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The 240GB Extreme uses just eight NAND flash chips, but this larger 480GB model uses sixteen. This will give us out first opportunity to see how the flash count affects power in our new power tests later on in this review.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases